25. October 2018

120 hours in Maceio

Lazy days in Maceio

We were lucky enough to know Cristina in Maceio. She has been a widow for a couple of years and was married to Ernesto, a Swiss whom we met eleven years ago. That is also the reason why not only a Brazilian but also a Swiss flag sways in the wind in her garden!

Since our first visit, contact with Cristina has never stopped. This is easier in the days of WhatsApp and E-mail! When she heard that we were in Brazil, she invited us to her house. Here we enjoyed after the 5’200 kilometer drive through Brazil a home with swimming pool. It was nice to enjoy a bit of luxury. These include an oven, a daily shower, a washing machine, a good food selection, ice cold beer and fresh milk. (The UHT milk that we drink otherwise does not inspire us!)

After a week’s vacation in Maceio, we drove south to Salvador. There we experienced unforgettable days in this strongly African city. On the return trip north, Maceio was once again on our way. Meanwhile, Cristina was on vacation in Spain – the house was empty. She made it available to us with everything inside. This included Divertida, a lovely cat that has become dear to our hearts.

We gladly accepted the offer and spent another five days here. We ate special food we can’t normally during travelling: Beefsteak Tatar (800 grams finest filet for CHF 15 .–). We enjoyed Sushi and Sashimi. We bought passion fruit ice-cream and filled our bellies with it. And I drank fresh milk every day – what a treat! (Well, there were other drinks we awarded as well …)

25. Oktober 2018

120 Stunden in Maceio

Lazy days in Maceio

Wir hatten das Glück in Maceio Cristina zu kennen. Sie ist seit ein paar Jahren Witwe und war mit Ernesto, einem Schweizer verheiratet, den wir vor elf Jahren kennengelernt hatten. Das ist auch der Grund, weshalb auf dem Grundstück nicht nur eine brasilianische sondern auch eine Schweizer Flagge im Winde weht!

Seit unserem ersten Besuch ist der Kontakt zu Cristina nie abgebrochen. Das ist heute – in Zeiten von WhatsApp und E-Mail – leichter als früher! Als sie hörte, dass wir in Brasilien sind, lud sie uns in ihr Haus ein. Hier genossen wir nach der 5’200 Kilometer-Fahrt durch Brasilien ein Zuhause mit Swimming Pool. Es war schön, ein bisschen Luxus zu geniessen. Dazu zählen wir einen Backofen, eine tägliche Dusche, eine Waschmaschine, ein gutes Lebensmittel-Angebot, eiskaltes Bier und frische Milch. (Die UHT-Milch, die wir sonst trinken, begeistert uns nicht!)

Nach einer Woche Ferien in Maceio fuhren wir nach Salvador. Dort erlebten wir unvergessliche Tage in dieser stark afrikanisch geprägten Stadt. Auf der Rückreise in den Norden lag Maceio nochmals auf unserem Weg. Cristina war unterdessen in den Ferien in Spanien – das Haus stand leer. Sie stellte es uns mit allem Drum und Dran zur Verfügung. Dazu gehörte auch Divertida, eine Katze, die uns inzwischen sehr ans Herz gewachsen ist.

Wir nahmen das Angebot gerne an und verbrachten nochmals fünf Tage hier. Wir assen all das, was wir unterwegs nicht können: Beefsteak Tatar (800 Gramm feinstes Filet für CHF 15.–). Wir liessen uns Sushi und Sashimi schmecken. Wir kauften Maracuja-Clacé und schlugen uns die Bäuche damit voll. Und ich trank jeden Tag frische Milch – was für ein Genuss! (Na ja, es gab auch andere Getränke, denen wir zusprachen…)