17. September 2018

Good bye Pantanal!

Start or End of the Transpantaneira

On Tuesday, 11th September 2018, we said goodbye to Porto Jofre and the Jaguars. We will never forget what we have seen and experienced here. Anyone who wants to see Jaguars in the wild (!) should take a trip to the Pantanal.

We started in the early afternoon. In front of us lay the Transpantaneira, a gravel road that runs for 250 kilometers through the northern Pantanal. You cross several dozen wooden bridges, some of which are in a deplorable state. No wonder, the driver will – where possible – go around. You drive (currently) through dry riverbeds, but in the rainy season, that’s another thing. One then has the choice between getting stuck in the swamp; or takes the risk that one of the wooden bridges collapses. As heavier the car as bigger the risk!

We were disappointed with this ride. This may also be related to the fact that is the end of the dry season now. The southern Pantanal was wetter and fascinated us much more. Here the streams and ponds are drying out. At present one can see several hundred (!) Caimans sharing the water what is left. It will not be before long and they will fall over each other due to lack of food. For my this would be ok – my favorite animals look different!

In the evening we camped on a sluggish river. It was nice because we received the visit of many birds here; less beautiful, was the trash that was lying around everywhere! The next morning, on the onward journey, we got to see many water and other birds. Especially Jabirus, which reminds us of the Marabout stork in Africa. The few ponds that still have water were filled with herons, storks, ibis and caimans. At least every five minutes, we spotted a Giant Kingfisher – my favorite bird!

A few kilometers before Poconé we reached the sign announcing the beginning of the Transpantaneira. Shortly thereafter, the gravel road changed to tar. We were now in the state of Mato Grosso. In front of us lay Cuiabà, a town of 500,000 inhabitants and skyscrapers. And only a day’s journey away from the Jaguars!

17. September 2018

Adieu Pantanal!

Start or End of the Transpantaneira

Am Dienstag, 11.9.2018, sagten wir Porto Jofre und den Jaguaren auf Wiedersehen. Was wir hier gesehen und erlebt haben, werden wir nie vergessen. Jeder, der einmal Jaguare in freier Wildbahn (!) sehen will, sei eine Reise ins Pantanal ans Herz gelegt.

Wir fuhren am frühen Nachmittag los. Vor uns lag die Transpantaneira, eine Schotterstrasse, die über 250 Kilometer durch das nördliche Pantanal führt. Dabei überquert man mehrere Dutzend Holzbrücken, die zum Teil in einem deplorablen Zustand sind. Kein Wunder, werden sie – dort wo es möglich ist –  umfahren. Dabei fährt man (zurzeit) durch trockene Flussläufe. In der Regenzeit allerdings, ist das so eine Sache. Man hat dann die Wahl zwischen steckenbleiben im Sumpf; oder nimmt das Risiko in Kauf, dass eine der Holzbrücken einstürzt.

Wir waren von dieser Fahrt enttäuscht. Das mag auch damit zusammenhängen, dass jetzt Ende der Trockenzeit ist. Das südliche Pantanal war feuchter und hat uns mehr fasziniert. Hier sind die Wasserläufe und Ponds am Austrocknen. Zurzeit sieht man darin mehrere hundert (!) Kaimane, die sich das wenige Wasser teilen. Es wird wohl nicht mehr lange dauern, bis sie wegen Futtermangel übereinander herfallen. Mir soll es recht sein – meine Lieblingstiere sehen anders aus!

Abends campierten wir an einem trägen Fluss. Schön war, dass wir hier den Besuch von vielen Vögeln erhielten; weniger schön, war der Abfall, der überall herumlag! Am nächsten Morgen, auf der Weiterfahrt, bekamen wir dann viele Wasser- und andere Vögel zu sehen. Vor allem Jabirus, die uns an den Marabut in Afrika erinnern. Die wenigen Ponds, die noch Wasser haben, waren besetzt mit Reihern, Störchen, Ibissen und Kaimanen. Mindestens alle fünf Minuten bekamen wir auch einen Giant Kingfisher – mein Lieblingsvogel –  zu Gesicht.

Wenige Kilometer vor Poconé erreichten wir das Schild, das den Beginn der Transpantaneira ankündigt. Kurz danach ging die Schotterstrasse in Teer über. Wir waren jetzt im Bundesstaat Mato Grosso. Vor uns lag Cuiabà, eine Stadt mit 500’000 Einwohnern und Hochhäusern. Und das nur eine Tagesreise entfernt von den Jaguaren!