10. April 2019

EVERYTHING IS BIGGER IN TEXAS

Long and longer

On 31st March 2019 we crossed the Rio Grande near Ojinaga. On the other side, we were in the US; more specifically in Texas. In the first town, Presidio, we bought vegetables and fruits that we were not allowed to import from Mexico. Apart from a gas station and the supermarket, there was nothing to see here. But Presidio was not our goal. Our destination was the Big Bend Ranch State Park.

The FM 177, one of the more beautiful routes, took us east along the Rio Grande. We drove the road in the most beautiful evening light and experienced why it is equally loved by Harley Davidson and RV drivers. We stayed two days in the park, at our place by the river. Not that we particularly liked it – the water of the Rio Grande has a greyish color! But we wanted to prepare for the journey through this part of the States. And so the two days in this park were very convenient for us.

The following day we drove via Lajitas and Terlingua, a Ghost Town to Study Butte. Here we came across an RV Park where RVs the size of dinosaurs stood. And these big RVs tow in the back a 4×4 larger than ours. These monsters are driven by two (!) people, who are seventy to eighty years old.

As the Texans say: Everything is bigger in Texas!

10. April 2019

ALLES IST GRÖSSER IN TEXAS

Long and longer

Am 31.3.2019 überquerten wir bei Ojinaga den Rio Grande. Auf der anderen Seite waren wir in den USA; genauer gesagt in Texas angelangt. Im ersten Städtchen, Presidio, kauften wir Gemüse und Früchte ein, die wir aus Mexiko nicht einführen durften. Ausser einer Tankstelle und dem Supermarkt gab es in Presidio nichts zu sehen. Doch unser Ziel war auch nicht dieses traurige «Kaff», sondern der Big Bend Ranch State Park.

Die FM 177, einer der schöneren Strecken, führte uns ostwärts entlang dem Rio Grande. Wir fuhren die Strecke im schönsten Abendlicht und erlebten, weshalb sie von Harley Davidson und RV-Fahrern gleichermassen geliebt wird. Wir blieben zwei Tage auf unserem Plätzchen am Rio Grande. Nicht dass uns der Fluss besonders gefallen hätte – sein Wasser hat eine Farbe wie flüssiger Zement! Aber wir wollten uns hier auf die Reise durch diesen Teil der Staaten vorbereiten und so kamen uns die zwei Tage in diesem Park gelegen.

Am übernächsten Tag fuhren wir via Lajitas und Terlingua, eine Geisterstadt, nach Study Butte. Hier stiessen wir auf einen RV Park wo Reisefahrzeuge in der Grösse von Dinosauriern standen! Hinten angehängt ist meistens noch ein 4×4-Fahrzeug, das grösser als unseres ist. Und diese Ungetüme werden von zwei (!) Leuten gefahren und bewohnt, die zwischen siebzig und achtzig Jahren alt sind.

Wie sagen die Texaner: Everything is bigger in Texas!