6. February 2019

AT THE RIVIERA MAYA

Playa at Xpu Ha

The Riviera Maya is a well-known holiday region on the Caribbean coast in southeastern Mexico. Cancun and Playa del Carmen are the main centers. We chose Playa del Carmen to await the arrival of our container in Veracruz. Brigitta had booked on the internet a rental car and an Airbnb for the three weeks of waiting time. This on the assumption that afterwards we drive to Veracruz to pick up Mahangu at the port there. But after the many delays our container is currently (6th February 2019) still in the harbor of Paramaribo.

We used the time to study Spanish in the morning and explore the area in the afternoon. A trip took us to the Maya ruins of Tulum, where we met hordes of tourists. Luckily, we were there in the early morning, together with our teacher Aldo because later we would have seen more tourists than stones. Another trip took us to Xpu-Ha. We knew this place from our first visit twelve years ago. We were curious how it would look like!

From the small campsite was nothing left. The beach, which at that time was almost deserted, is littered with beach restaurants. The sand is still powdery and white; the water is turquoise blue and warm. But the brown algae have become a problem. Tons of Zaragoza grass is being washed ashore every day and people here are worried about the impact on tourism.

The next Saturday we leave Playa del Carmen. We drive to Mérida to see this beautiful city. From there we continue to Campeche, also a city in the Spanish colonial style. Until then we will also know when the CFS SODERBURG arrives in Veracruz! And if our container has been loaded on board!

6. Februar 2019

AN DER RIVIERA MAYA

Playa at Xpu Ha

Die Riviera Maya ist eine bekannte Urlaubsregion an der Karibikküste im Südosten Mexikos. Cancun und Playa del Carmen sind die wichtigsten Zentren. Wir hatten uns für Playa del Carmen entschieden, um hier die Ankunft unseres Containers in Veracruz abzuwarten. Brigitta hatte von Paramaribo aus ein Mietauto und ein Airbnb für drei Wochen gebucht. Dies in der Annahme, dass wir danach nach Veracruz fahren, um dort Mahangu am Hafen abzuholen. Doch nach den vielen Verzögerungen in Paramaribo steht unser Container zurzeit (5.2.2019) immer noch dort.

Wir nutzten die Morgenstunden für einen Spanischunterricht und die Nachmittage, um die Umgebung zu erkunden. Ein Ausflug führte uns nach Tulum, wo wir auf Horden von Touristen trafen. Zum Glück waren wir am frühen Morgen dort, zusammen mit unserem Lehrer Aldo, denn später hätten wir mehr Touristen als Steine zu sehen bekommen. Ein weiterer Ausflug führte uns nach Xpu-Ha. Diesen Ort kannten wir von unserem ersten Besuch vor zwölf Jahren. Wir waren gespannt, wie wir ihn antreffen würden.

Vom kleinen Campingplatz war nichts mehr zu sehen. Der Strand, der damals noch fast menschenleer war, ist übersät mit Strandrestaurants. Der Sand ist zwar immer noch puderfein und weiss; das Wasser türkisblau und warm. Doch die Braunalgen sind zu einem Problem geworden. Tonnenweise wird das Saragossa-Gras an Land geschwemmt; man macht sich hier grosse Sorgen über die Auswirkungen, die das auf den Tourismus haben kann.

Am nächsten Samstag verlassen wir das touristische Playa del Carmen. Wir fahren nach Mérida, um uns diese schöne Stadt anzuschauen. Von dort geht es weiter nach Campeche, ebenfalls eine Stadt im spanischen Kolonialstil. Bis dann werden wir auch wissen, wann die CFS SODERBURG in Veracruz ankommt! Und ob unser Container an Bord ist!