26. January 2020

ALONG THE SEA OF CORTEZ

What a Location!

On Wednesday, January 22nd, 2020 we drove to Lukeville, which is on the Mexican border. There was hardly any traffic. We were led to the customs post through a narrow alley with cameras on both sides. A stop here and a stop there so the cameras can take a picture. And then we saw the sign «Bienvenido en México!».

As fussy as the controls are when you enter the United States, they are as lax as you leave. You don’t even get an exit stamp in your passport. To avoid problems when going back to the USA, Brigitta took a picture of the entry stamp of the Mexican customs authority. This way we can prove that we left the States if ever we have to come back to ship from California.  (We have learned that shipping out of Mexico is extremely complicated!)

Mexico! The sky was blue. The air smelled of asado, bougainvillea’s and tortillas. People talk louder and the cars are older than in the United States. Everything was a little less clean. Welcome in Mexico! After we received the Tourist Card at the immigration, we continued our journey towards Puerto Penasco. Long time ago this was a charming harbor town; but now the condominiums and hotels are taking over. Canadians and Americans buy a place at the sun and escape winter at home!

We followed the coast and arrived in the late afternoon at a nice place at the Sea of ​​Cortez aka Gulf of California. (Named after the Spanish explorer Hernan Cortez, who was looking for gold for the Spanish crown in the 16th century.) Four shady palapas and the view invited us to stay what we did for the next two days.

PS. We just saw a large swarm of dolphins that swam along the coast. Perhaps the dolphins were drawn to Brigitta’s flute playing?

26. Januar 2020

AN DER SEA OF CORTEZ

What a Location!

Am Mittwoch, 22.1.2020 fuhren wir nach Lukeville, das an der mexikanischen Grenze liegt. Es herrschte kaum Verkehr. Durch eine enge Gasse mit Kameras auf beiden Seiten und Schikanen wurden wir zum Zollposten geführt. Ein Halt hier, ein Halt dort – bitte freundlich lächeln. Und dann stand da auch schon ein Schild mit der Botschaft: «Bienvenido en México».

So pingelig die Kontrollen sind, wenn man in die USA einreist, so lasch sind sie, wenn man ausreist. Man bekommt nicht einmal einen Ausgangsstempel in den Pass. Zur Sicherheit machte Brigitta eine Aufnahme vom Eingangsstempel der Zollbehörde Mexikos. So können wir beweisen, dass wir ausreisten falls wir nochmals in die USA einreisen, um von dort nach Australien zu verschiffen. (Die Verschiffung ab Mexico ist – wie wir erfahren haben – extrem kompliziert!)

Mexiko! Der Himmel war blau. Die Luft roch nach Asado, nach Bougainvilleas und Tortillas. Die Leute reden lauter und die Autos sind älter als in den USA. Alles war ein bisschen weniger sauber. Mexiko eben. Nachdem wir bei der Inmigracion die Tourist Card erhalten hatten, ging die Fahrt in Richtung Puerto Penasco weiter. Das war vor langer Zeit ein charmantes Hafenstädtchen; aber jetzt nehmen die Condominios und Hotels überhand. Kanadier und US-Amerikaner kaufen sich hier ein Plätzchen an der Wärme, um den Winter zuhause zu überbrücken!

Wir folgten der Küste und trafen gegen Abend auf einen schönen Übernachtungsplatz an der Sea of Cortez. (Nach dem spanischen Entdecker Hernan Cortéz benannt, der hier im 16. Jahrhundert sein Unwesen trieb.) Vier Schatten spendende Palapas und die Sicht aufs Meer luden zum Bleiben.

PS. Wir sichteten einen grossen Delfin-Schwarm, der an der Küste vorbeizog. Vielleicht wurden die Delfine von Brigittas Flötenspiel angezogen?