20. November 2018

VER-O-PESO

Nothing that couldn't be treated!

Travel also means that you have to clarify and organize many things in advance. On the third day after our arrival in Belem we had organized the most important, concerning the onward journey. For example, the ship transport from Belem to Macapa, the visit to the Space Center in Kourou and also the stay in Cayenne, the capital of French Guyana. Now we had time to have a look at Belem. Especially the famous market Ver-o-Peso.

This market is located on the banks of the Parà. It got his name from the then colonial rulers, the Portuguese. Here was the main post of the tax collector, who made sure that the goods are cleared in accordance with the rules and the state receives income. Ver-o-Peso means seeing and weighing. And the tax collectors did exactly that.

Everything is available in this busy market. Here Para- and Cashew-Nuts are sold in 50 kg bags. Guinea pigs, ducks and mices are sold at a stall nearby. Budgerigars, who sit in small cages are used to the constant noise level of the market are still chirping happily. At another stall, women are offering tinctures to heal wounds or help men get a better erection. They were after me especially, but I pointed to Brigitta and said: «Eu tenho uma jovem esposa.»

But we did not want to give up delicious fruit juice, full of vitamins. We drank seven different kinds, pressed from mostly unknown fruits for us and saved us so the lunch! After a few hours we made our way back to the hotel. With 500 grams of Para and Cashew nuts each and a beautiful necklace – but without Viagra!

20. November 2018

VER-O-PESO

Nothing that couldn't be treated!

Reisen bedeutet auch, dass man zum Voraus viele Dinge abklären und erledigen muss. Am dritten Tag nach unserer Ankunft hatten wir das Wichtigste organisiert, was die Weiterreise betrifft. Zum Beispiel den Schiffstransport von Belem nach Macapa, den Besuch im Raumfahrtzentrum in Kourou und auch den Aufenthalt in Cayenne, der Hauptstadt von Franösisch Guyana. Jetzt hatten wir Zeit, uns Belem anzuschauen. Vor allem den berühmten Markt Ver-o-Peso.

Dieser Markt liegt am Ufer des Parà. Seinen Namen erhielt er von den damaligen Kolonialherren, den Portugiesen. Hier befand sich der Hauptposten der Steuereintreiber, die dafür sorgten, dass die Ware regelkonform verzollt wird und der Staat zu Einkünften kommt. Ver-o-Peso bedeutet Sehen und Wägen. Und das taten die Steuereintreiber damals.

Auf diesem geschäftigen Markt ist alles zu haben. Hier werden Para- und Caju (Cashew)-Nüsse in 50 kg Säcken verkauft. Dort werden Meerschweinchen, Enten und Mäuse feilgeboten. In kleinen Käfigen sitzen Wellensittiche, die sich an den konstanten Lärmpegel des Marktes gewöhnt haben und fröhlich zwitschern. An einem anderen Stand bieten Frauen Tinkturen an, die Wunden heilen oder Männern zu einer besseren Erektion verhelfen sollen. Sie hatten es vor allem auf mich abgesehen; doch ich zeigte auf Brigitta und gab zur Antwort: «Eu tenho uma jovem esposa».

Doch auf Fruchtsaft, voll mit Vitaminen, wollten wir nicht verzichten. Wir tranken sieben verschiedene Sorten, gepresst aus uns meist unbekannten Früchten und ersparten uns so das Mittagessen! Nach ein paar Stunden machten wir uns auf den Rückweg ins Hotel. Mit je 500 Gramm Para- und Cashewnüssen und einer schönen Halskette – aber ohne Viagra!