8. May 2019

WITH THE MORMONS

Main Temple of the Mormons, Salt Lake City

In 1805, a certain Joseph Smith was born in Sharon, Vermont. At the tender age of fourteen, he began to wonder what faith was right for him. During a prayer in a forest in which he asked for advice, he received a visit from two luminaries: God and his son. Jesus told him that all the religions that currently exist are not the right ones. And that he, Joseph Smith, should found a new religion. It was the one of the Mormons. (As far the saga, as told by the Mormons!)

One of the pillars of this new faith was that the «Prophet», Joseph Smith, did not forbid his fellow believers to have more than one wife. No wonder the Mormons and their leader were persecuted for that reason as well. To escape this, the Mormons moved in a trek and under the leadership of Joseph Smith in the Southwest of the United States. In the area of the Great Salt Lake they settled down. There nobody lived except some Indians.

Here the Mormons founded their capital, Salt Lake City. Here are her most important temple, the Tabernacle and the headquarters of this sect, known for its missionary zeal. We felt it when we visited the Mormon Temple. Again and again we were approached by “Sisters” who came from all over the world to serve for eighteen months.

The Mormons have now renounced polygamy. But the consumption of alcohol is still prohibited. That alone would be reason enough for me not to join this sect!

8. Mai 2019

BEI DEN MORMONEN

Main Temple of the Mormons, Salt Lake City

Im Jahre 1805 wurde ein gewisser Joseph Smith in Sharon, Vermont, geboren. Mit zarten vierzehn Jahren begann er sich zu fragen, welcher Glaube für ihn der richtige ist. Während einem Gebet in einem Wald, in dem er um Rat fragte, erhielt er Besuch von zwei Lichtgestalten: Gott und seinem Sohn. Jesus sagte ihm, dass alle Religionen, die zurzeit existieren, nicht die richtigen sind. Und dass er, Joseph Smith, eine neue Religion gründen soll. Es war diejenige der Mormonen. (Soweit die Saga, wie sie von den Mormonen erzählt wird!)

Zu einem der Pfeiler dieser neuen Glaubensrichtung gehörte, dass der «Prophet», Joseph Smith, seinen Glaubensbrüdern die Vielweiberei nicht verbot. Kein Wunder, dass die Mormonen und ihr Anführer auch aus diesem Grund der Verfolgung ausgesetzt waren. Um dieser zu entfliehen, zogen die Mormonen in einem Trek und unter der Führung von Joseph Smith in den Südwesten der Vereinigten Staaten. In der Gegend des Grossen Salzsees liessen sie sich nieder. Dort, wo ausser Indianern niemand lebte.

Hier gründeten die Mormonen ihre Hauptstad Salt Lake City. Hier bauten sie ihren wichtigsten Tempel, den Tabernakel und das Headquarter ihrer Sekte, die für ihren missionarischen Eifer bekannt ist. Den bekamen wir zu spüren, als wir den Mormonen-Tempel besuchten. Immer wieder wurden wir von «Schwestern» angesprochen, die aus aller Welt kamen, um hier für achtzehn Monate Dienst zu tun und neue Mitglieder zu aquirieren.

Der Vielweiberei haben die Mormonen inzwischen abgeschworen. Aber verboten ist nach wie vor der Genuss von Alkohol. Das wäre alleine Grund genug für mich, um dieser Sekte nicht beizutreten!