9. August 2018

At home with friends

Beautiful Zurich

We thought that in three weeks we would at least be able to visit all our friends in and around Zurich. We could have almost done that if we had one week more. But from experience we know that you have to limit a visit at home. If you don’t do that, you will suddenly be home for three months instead of three weeks. The result is obvious: you get between chair and bench. In other words, you are neither traveling nor really at home. We wanted to spare this to ourselves and our friends.

It was an unforgettable and beautiful time! Unforgettable also because our visit fell into a century-summer. Three weeks with most beautiful weather with temperatures over 30 ° C. And tropical nights because the temperatures never dropped below 20°. No wonder that even in Zurich Mediterranean feelings came up. We enjoyed the advantages of Zurich in the summer: Less traffic and more parking space! And tourists from all over the world who wanted to see one of the most beautiful Swiss cities. (Only Basel is more beautiful – smile!)

We thank our family and friends for the hospitality during our stay. It’s wonderful to have such friends and to see them again. And it’s nice to go traveling again! We are looking forward to both! On Sunday, August 12, 2018, we fly back to South America via Madrid – back into the winter. We expect temperatures in Asuncion below 10 ° C. There are people in Switzerland who envy us – at least for half an hour!

9. August 2018

Bei Freunden zuhause

Beautiful Zurich

Wir dachten, dass wir es in drei Wochen zumindest schaffen, alle unsere Freunde in und um Zürich zu besuchen. Das hätten wir mit einer Woche mehr auch fast geschafft. Doch aus Erfahrung wissen wir, dass man einen Heimaturlaub beschränken muss. Tut man das nicht, dann ist man anstatt drei Wochen plötzlich drei Monate zuhause. Das Resultat liegt auf der Hand: Man gerät zwischen Stuhl und Bank. Oder anders gesagt: Man ist weder auf Reisen noch richtig zuhause. Das wollten wir uns und unseren Freunden ersparen.

Es war eine unvergessliche und schöne Zeit! Unvergesslich auch deshalb, weil unser Besuch in einen Jahrhundert-Sommer fiel. Drei Wochen schönstes Wetter bei Temperaturen über 30° C. Und tropische Nächte, da die Temperatur nachts nie unter 20° C fiel. Kein Wunder, dass da selbst in Zürich mediterrane Gefühle aufkamen. Wir genossen die Vorteile von Zürich im Sommer: Weniger Verkehr und mehr Parkplätze! Und Touristen aus aller Welt, die sich eine der schönsten Schweizer Städte – Basel ist schöner (smile!) – von nahe anschauen wollten.

Wir bedanken uns für die Gast-Freundschaft während unseres Aufenthalts. Es ist schön, solche Freunde zu haben und wiederzusehen. Und es ist schön, wieder auf Reisen zu gehen! Wir freuen uns auf beides! Am Sonntag, 12. August 2018 fliegen wir via Madrid zurück nach Südamerika, in den Winter. Uns erwarten in Asuncion Temperaturen unter 10° C. Es gibt Leute in der Schweiz, die uns darum beneiden – zumindest für eine halbe Stunde!