18. April 2019

FLOWERING SEASON IN THE CHIHUAHUAN DESERT

Rainbow Cactus

Already in Durango we heard that now, in spring, the cactuses in Texas are blooming. An event similar to that of the wildflower season in South Africa. We were very excited about what we would get to see.

On 31st March 2019 we crossed the Rio Grande and the border to the USA at Ojinaga. Two days later we were in the Big Bend National Park, which hits the Rio Grande and Mexico in the south. At the park entrance we bought an annual pass for all US national parks and inquired about the camping possibilities. We were amazed when we were told that all camps are fully booked. At least those, where the more than twelve meters long RVs – most with slide-outs – could park. Fortunately, there are also Back Country Primitive Campsites. These are places without electricity and water. Places where you can only get to with a 4×4 with high clearance. Exactly the right thing for us.

The next two days we made our way through Big Bend National Park, which is part of the 360,000 square kilometer Chihuahuan Desert. What we saw was terrific. Thousands of cacti unfolded their flowers in an imposing desert landscape. For example, this Rainbow cactus!

18. April 2019

BLÜTENPRACHT IN DER CHIHUAHUA-WÜSTE

Rainbow Cactus

Bereits in Durango hörten wir, dass jetzt, im Frühling, in Texas die Kakteen blühen. Ein Ereignis, das demjenigen der Wildflower-Season in Südafrika entspricht. Wir waren gespannt auf das, was wir zu sehen bekommen würden.

Am 31.3.2019 querten wir bei Ojinaga den Rio Grande und die Grenze nach den USA. Zwei Tage später waren wir im Big Bend National Park, der im Süden an den Rio Grande und an Mexiko anstösst. Am Parkeingang lösten wir einen Jahrespass für alle US-Nationalparks und erkundigten uns nach den Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten. Wir staunten nicht schlecht, als man uns sagte, dass alle Camps ausgebucht sind. Zumindest die, an denen die über zwölf Meter langen RVs – die meisten mit Slide-Outs – stehen. Doch es gibt zum Glück auch noch die Back Country Primitive Campsites. Das sind Plätze ohne Strom- und Wasseranschluss. Plätze, wo man nur mit einem 4×4 hinkommt. Genau das Richtige also für uns.

Die nächsten beiden Tage kurvten wir durch den Big Bend Nationalpark, der Teil der 360’000 Quadratkilometer grossen Chihuahua-Wüste ist. Was wir sahen war grandios. Tausende von Kakteen entfalteten ihr Blüten in einer imposanten Wüstenlandschaft. Zum Beispiel auch dieser Rainbow Kaktus!