12. September 2019

THE BEAR IS ON THE LOOSE!

Face to Face with a Black Bear!

In Canada, many highways carry not just a number, but also a name. Highway No. 8 is the Dempster Highway. Another, the number 3, is called Yellow Head Highway; number 5 is called Klondike Highway. And the one we drive at the moment, number 37, is called Stewart Cassiar Highway.

Yesterday, we turned off to it just after Watson Lake. Highway 37 leads in more or less direct way to the south, to Vernon, where friends expect us for some weeks now. Again, and again we have postponed our arrival. The last time because of our trip to Tuk. But now we have definitely signed up for the end of this week. Vernon is located in the Okanagan Valley, where vines are grown. And now, in the fall, there is harvest time. A good reason to be there soon! Only 1’200 kilometers separate us from Vernon. What is that?

On the Dempster Highway we suspected caribous, moose and also bears. They should be there as we heard. However, we didn’t get to see them. That changed on the Stewart Cassiar Highway. It was as if the bears had decided to wave goodbye to us. First we saw one at the roadside, where he enjoyed eating flowers and grass. Ten minutes later, a second black spot – again a black bear. And so, it went on in ten-minute intervals until we met bear number 7. Incredible. But true!

PS: The bears are shortly about to hibernate. Before they do this, they eat everything that comes their way: salmon, berries, grass and roots.

(Written on 9/10/2019, at the Salmon River, Hayder, Alaska)

12. September 2019

DER BÄR IST LOS!

Face to Face with a Black Bear!

In Kanada tragen viele Highways nicht nur eine Nummer, sondern auch Namen. So heisst der Highway Nr. 8 Dempster Highway. Ein anderer, die Nummer 3, trägt den Namen Yellow Head Highway, Die Nummer 5 heissst Klondike Highway. Und die, die wir zurzeit fahren, die Nummer 37, heisst Stewart Cassiar Highway.

Auf ihn bogen wir gestern, kurz nach Watson Lake, ab. Dieser Highway führt in mehr oder weniger direktem Weg in den Süden, nach Vernon, wo uns Freunde seit einigen Wochen erwarten. Immer wieder haben wir die Ankunft bei ihnen verschoben. Das letzte Mal wegen unserem Abstecher nach Tuk. Doch jetzt haben wir uns definitiv für Ende dieser Woche angemeldet. Vernon liegt im Okanagan Valley, wo auch Reben angebaut werden. Und jetzt, im Herbst, ist dort Erntezeit. Ein triftiger Grund, bald dort zu sein! Nur noch knappe 1’200 Kilometer trennen uns von Vernon. Was ist das schon!

Wir waren auf dem Dempster Highway auf Karibus, Moose und auch Bären gefasst. Die soll es dort auch geben. Zu sehen allerdings bekamen wir sie nicht. Das änderte sich auf dem Stewart Cassiar Highway. Es war, als ob die Bären beschlossen hätten, uns hier auf Wiedersehen zu winken. Zuerst sahen wir einen am Strassenrand, wo er genüsslich Blumen und Gras frass. Zehn Minuten später ein zweiter schwarzer Fleck – wieder ein Schwarzbär. Und so ging es im Zehn-Minuten-Takt weiter bis wir auf Nummer 7 trafen. Unglaublich. Aber wahr!

PS: Bären sind jetzt kurz vor dem Winterschlaf. Vorher jedoch fressen sie alles, was ihnen vor die Schnauze kommt: Lachse, Beeren, Gras und Wurzeln.

 (Geschrieben am 10.9.2019, am Salmon River, Hayder, Alaska)