6. September 2018

Through the southern Pantanal

Passo do Lontra

The Estrada Parque branches off at Buraco das Piranhas from the BR 262 and leads fifty kilometers through the southern Pantanal. This side trip was recommended by other travelers. «You have the chance to meet big anteaters». Or «There are many birds to see». These were statements that aroused anticipation.

After Miranda, the BR 262 made a wide bend westward and led us along the river towards Corumbà. From time to time bridges crossed the Rio Miranda. Already here we came across a paradise! Countless herons stood in the water, a Jabiru stork stalked through the water and lazy caimans lay on the shore. Green parrots and dozens of red Cardinal birds were whizzing through the air!

An hour later we turned off to the Estrada Parque. During or after heavy rain, this track is no longer passable, which proved the deep traces in the dried mud! After eight kilometers we reached the Lodge Passo do Lontra, which is located on the Rio Miranda. We were with a few Brazilian fishermen the only guests and could park our vehicle directly at the lagoon.

Early the next morning we went on an extended tour. A footbridge on stilts led in a wide arc through the jungle and along the Rio Miranda. It was a paradise for birdwatchers like us. If an increase was still possible, then it followed on the onward journey. Apart from big anteaters and jaguars, we got to see almost everything there is to see in the southern Pantanal!

6. September 2018

Durch das südliche Pantanal

Passo do Lontra

Die Estrada Parque zweigt bei Buraco das Piranhas von der BR 262 ab und führt fünfzig Kilometer durch das südliche Pantanal. Dieser Abstecher wurde uns von einigen Reisenden empfohlen. «Ihr habt die Chance auf grosse Ameisenbären zu treffen». Oder «Es gibt sehr viele Vögel zu sehen». Das waren Aussagen, die Vorfreude weckten.

Nach Miranda machte die BR 262 einen weiten Bogen westwärts und führte uns dem Fluss entlang in Richtung Corumbà. Hin und wieder überquerten Brücken den Rio Miranda. Bereits hier trafen wir auf wahre Vogelparadiese! Im Wasser standen unzählige Reiher, ein Jabiru-Storch stelzte durchs Wasser und am Ufer lagen träge Kaimane. Durch die Luft schwirrten grüne Papageien und Dutzende von roten Cardinal-Vögeln!

Eine Stunde später bogen wir auf die Estrada Parque ab. Bei oder nach starkem Regen ist diese Piste nicht mehr befahrbar, was die tiefen Spuren im getrockneten Schlamm bewiesen! Nach acht Kilometern erreichten wir die Lodge Passo do Lontra, die am Rio Miranda liegt. Wir waren mit ein paar brasilianischen Fischern die einzigen Gäste und konnten unser Fahrzeug direkt an einer Lagune parkieren.

Früh am nächsten Morgen machten wir uns auf einen ausgedehnten Rundgang. Ein Steg auf Stelzen führte in einem weiten Bogen durch den Urwald und entlang des Rio Miranda. Es war ein Paradies für Birdwatcher wie uns. Wenn eine Steigerung noch möglich war, dann folgte die auf der Weiterfahrt. Wir bekamen ausser grossen Ameisenbären und Jaguaren fast alles zu sehen, was es im südlichen Pantanal zu sehen gibt!