7. May 2019

AN OPERA NIGHT IN SALT LAKE CITY

Marjorie Owens: Considered the «New Callas»

In Salt Lake City we stayed for seven days with Kathy Barrett, whom we met during our trip to the Falkland Islands and South Georgia. For Saturday night, May 4th, Kathy got us tickets for an opera. The opera Norma was composed by Vincenzo Bellini. In the main role sang the «New Callas», as it was presented in the brochure we received. Her name is Marjorie Owens, from Virginia. She is about 1.70 tall and weighs 100 kilograms. An impressive appearance with an even more impressive voice!

Brigitta was outfitted in elegant black for this opera evening by Kathy. I wore what my travel wardrobe gave. In this case, a pair of long black pants, a white T-shirt and above a blue plaid shirt. We made a strange combination. But when I saw how most of the opera visitors were showing up, I did not feel completely out of place.

We also learned more about the composer of this opera that evening. Vincenzo Bellini was born in 1801 in Catania, in Sicily. He was a Child Prodigy and died at just 33 years near Paris. In the short time he has composed over ten operas and created an immortal name. His main work is Norma, an opera that originated in the heyday of the Bel Canto. What that means, we experienced that evening. It will remain unforgettable. And now we understand why Marjorie Owens is considered the «New Callas» ….

7. Mai 2019

OPERN-ABEND IN SALT LAKE CITY

Marjorie Owens: Considered the «New Callas»

In Salt Lake City wohnten wir für sieben Tage bei Kathy Barrett, die wir während unserer Reise zu den Falkland-Inseln und South Georgia kennengelernt hatten. Für Samstagabend, 4. Mail 2019, besorgte uns Kathy Tickets für eine Oper. (Das letzte Mal in der Oper waren wir 2012, in Novosibirsk!) Aufgeführt wurde Norma von Vincenzo Bellini. In der Hauptrolle sang die «Neue Callas», wie sie im Opernführer vorgestellt wurde. Sie heisst Marjorie Owens, stammt aus Virginia, ist etwa 1.70 gross und 100 Kilogramm schwer. Eine imposante Erscheinung mit einer noch imposanteren Stimme!

Brigitta wurde von Kathy für diesen Opernabend in elegantes Schwarz gehüllt. Ich trug, was meine Reisegarderobe hergab. In diesem Fall ein Paar lange schwarze Hosen, ein weisses T-Shirt und darüber ein blau-kariertes Hemd. Wir gaben eine seltsame Kombination ab. Doch als ich sah, in was für Aufmachungen die meisten Opernbesucher erschienen, fühlte ich mich nicht komplett daneben.

Wir lernten an diesem Abend auch mehr über den Komponisten dieser Oper. Vincenzo Bellini wurde 1801 in Catania, auf Sizilien, geboren. Er war ein «Wunderkind» und starb mit nur 33 Jahren in der Nähe von Paris. In der kurzen Zeit hat er über zehn Opern komponiert und sich einen unsterblichen Namen geschaffen. Als sein Hauptwerk gilt Norma, eine Oper, die in der Blütezeit des Bel Canto entstand. Was das bedeutet, erlebten wir an diesem Abend. Er wird uns unvergesslich bleiben. Und wir verstehen nun, weshalb Marjorie Owens als die «Neue Callas» gilt…