16. March 2019

A DAY WITH JAMES EDWARDS (1907 – 1984)

Las Pozas - Surrealistic Garden of Edward James

There are many whimsical Englishmen. A very special one was Edward Frank Willis James. Born in 1907 into an English aristocrat family – his godfather was George VIII – he spent a carefree but boring youth. In 1920 he attended the prestigious Eton College and later the Art Academy of Oxford University. During this time he made acquaintance with Salvador Dali, Max Ernst and René Magritte. He became a patron of Dali and, over the years, the owner of the largest private collection of surrealist art.

When his mother, Evelyne Forbes, died in 1929, she left him a fortune that made him one of the richest men of his time. He lived a life as a playboy, traveled and had an illustrious circle of friends to renowned artists and writers this included also Coco Chanel. His marriage to a ballet dancer from Vienna lasted not more than five years.

 In 1935 he wrote a novel and financed the issue of the art revue Minotauro, whose title pages were partially illustrated by Picasso. In 1940 he visited an Ashram in New Mexico (USA) and began to meditate. In 1945, his adventurous life took him to Mexico, to Xilitia in the state of Potosi. Two years later he bought Las Pozos, a huge piece of land in the jungle with rivers and waterfalls.

In 1947 he met in Xilitia Plutarco Gastélum, an architect and José Augilar, a gifted carpenter and mold maker. With them and up to a hundred workers palaces, columns, orchids and bridges were created in the jungle over the next seventeen years. This surreal dream of cement bears witness to James Edwards, one of the greatest eccentrics of the 20th century, who died in 1984 in San Remo.

We visited his legacy on March 14, 2019. It was a bright day; and we had an unforgettable experience. Thank you, James!

16. März 2019

EIN TAG BEI JAMES EDWARDS (1907 – 1984)

Las Pozas - Surrealistic Garden of Edward James

Es gibt viele spleenige Engländer. Ein ganz besonderer war Edward Frank Willis James. 1907 in eine englische Aristokraten-Familie geboren – sein Pate war Georg VIII ­ – durchlief er eine unbeschwerte aber langweilige Jugend. 1920 besuchte er das renommierte Eton-College und später die Kunstakademie der Universität Oxford. Während dieser Zeit machte er Bekanntschaft mit Salvador Dali, Max Ernst und René Magritte. Er wurde ein Mäzen von Dali und über die Jahre zum Besitzer der grössten privaten Sammlung an surrealistischer Kunst.

Als 1929 seine Mutter, Evelyne Forbes, starb, hinterliess sie ihm ein Vermögen, das ihn zu einem der reichsten Männern der damaligen Zeit machte. Er lebte ein Leben als Playboy, reiste und hatte einen illustren Freundeskreis zu dem neben renommierten Künstlern und Schriftstellern auch Coco Chanel gehörten. Seine Ehe mit einer Balletttänzerin aus Wien hielt knapp fünf Jahre.

1935 schrieb er eine Novelle und finanzierte die Ausgabe der Kunst-Revue Minotauro, deren Titelseiten zum Teil von Picasso illustriert wurden. 1940 besuchte er in Neu-Mexiko (USA) einen Ashram und begann zu meditieren. 1945 führte ihn sein abenteuerliches Leben nach Mexiko, nach Xilitia im Staat Potosi. Dort kaufte er zwei Jahre später Las Pozos, ein riesiges Grundstück im Urwald mit Flüssen und Wasserfällen.

1947 lernte er in Xilitia Plutarco Gastélum, einen Architekten und José Augilar, einen begnadeten Schreiner und Formenbauer kennen. Mit ihnen und bis zu hundert Arbeitern, entstanden in den nächsten siebzehn Jahren im Urwald Paläste, Säulen, Orchideen und Brücken. Dieser surrealistische Traum aus Zement legt Zeugnis von James Edwards ab, einem der grössten Exzentriker des 20. Jahrhunderts, der 1984 in San Remo starb.

Wir besuchten sein Vermächtnis am 14. März 2019. Es war ein strahlend schöner Tag; und wir kamen in den Genuss eines unvergesslichen Erlebnisses. Thank you, James!