25. March 2019

IMPRESSIVELY BEAUTIFUL: NP LOS ORGANOS

PN Los Organos, Zacatecas, Mexico

As good as we liked Zacatecas: we were looking forward to the onward journey, because we knew what to expect! Only a good two hundred kilometers away is an incredibly beautiful national park. The name is Los Organos. Organos, in Spanish, means also organ pipes. And that’s exactly what the impressive rock pillars look like.

The ride took us through a dry plateau at around 2,000 meters. The red earth looked very fertile. Where water is pumped out of the ground for irrigation, it is green. We passed huge peach plantations and – to our surprise – also vines. We would have loved to know what kind of grapes they grow here. But except for a few tractor drivers plowing huge fields, we did not see anyone we could ask.

Then we reached Sombrerete, another Puebla Magico. These pueblos, mostly small towns, receive this award because they preserve their old structure. Ugly concrete blocks or corrugated iron huts are not visible here. But nice churches, shady places and venerable buildings. Not infrequently one encounters some Vaqueros (Cowboys) on horses on the narrow streets. Or the horse is pulled in a trailer by a 4×4. Horses belong here almost to the basic equipment of a household.

An hour later we reached the National Park Los Organos. Meanwhile, the driveway has been paved and there are now also biological toilets. Otherwise, however, nature – unlike us – does not look chanced after the twelve years that have passed since our first visit. We looked for a nice place to camp, put on our hiking boots and made our way to explore the area. She was beautiful! So nice that we stayed three days. Hiking for three days – we do not even do that in Switzerland!

25. März 2019

EINDRÜCKLICH SCHÖN: NP LOS ORGANOS

PN Los Organos, Zacatecas, Mexico

So gut uns Zacatecas auch gefiel: Wir freuten uns auf die Weiterreise, denn wir wussten, was auf uns wartet! Nur gute zweihundert Kilometer entfernt ist ein unglaublich schöner Nationalpark. Er heisst Los Organos. Organos bedeutet auf Spanisch auch Orgelpfeifen. Und genau so sehen die eindrücklichen Felsenpfeiler aus.

Die Fahrt führte uns durch eine trockene Hochebene auf rund 2’000 Metern. Die rote Erde sah fruchtbar aus. Dort, wo Wasser für die Bewässerung aus dem Boden gepumpt wird, ist es grün. Wir passierten riesige Pfirsich-Plantagen und – zu unserer Überraschung – auch Reben. Nur zu gerne hätten wir gewusst, was für Trauben hier wachsen. Doch wir bekamen ausser ein paar Traktorfahrern, die riesige Äcker pflügten, niemand zu Gesicht, den wir fragen konnten.

Dann erreichten wir Sombrerete, ein weiteres Puebla Magico. Diese Pueblos, meistens kleine Städtchen, erhalten diese Auszeichnung, weil sie ihre alte Bausubstanz erhalten. Hässliche Beton- oder Wellblechhütten sind hier nicht zu sehen. Dafür schöne Kirchen, schattige Plätze und ehrwürdige Gebäude. Nicht selten begegnet man auf den schmalen Strassen Vaqueros (Cowboys) auf Pferden. Oder das Pferd wird auf einem Anhänger von einem 4×4 gezogen. Pferde gehören hier schon fast zur Grundausrüstung eines Haushaltes.

Eine Stunde später erreichten wir den Nationalpark Los Organos. Die Zufahrt wurde unterdessen geteert und es gibt jetzt auch biologische Toiletten. Sonst jedoch sieht man der Natur – im Gegensatz zu uns – die zwölf Jahre nicht an, die seit dem ersten Besuch vergangen sind. Wir suchten uns ein schönes Plätzchen, zogen unsere Wanderschuhe an und machten uns auf die Socken die Umgebung zu erkunden. Sie war wunderschön! So schön, dass wir drei Tage blieben. Drei Tage wandern – so etwas machen wir nicht einmal in der Schweiz!