18. November 2019

A WALL ARISES

«Trump-Wall» is taking shape!

After visiting the Chiricahua Desert Museum in Rodeo, New Mexico on 11/14/2019, we drove south through a dry landscape. Soon we were back in Arizona and reached a good hour later Douglas. This small town with 16’000 inhabitants borders Mexico and is strongly connected to this neighboring country. Outside the city you can see the Ruta 2, which runs along the border on the Mexican side.

We were looking outside of Douglas for a quiet place to spend the night. So close to the border we had to be careful. The Border Control patrols the area along the border day and night to catch unwanted immigrants from the south. The Trump Wall, which is currently being built along the Mexican border, is to ensure that they do not even get into the country. On our drive we saw a lot of Caterpillar construction machinery. Huge cranes were erecting meter-high wall elements. It was very strange to see a nine meter high wall in this deserted area.

PS. The opinions about the wall are as divided as those about Donald Trump! Here, many complain about the high water consumption for the construction of the wall. Water is scarce in the south of Arizona!

18. November 2019

EINE MAUER ENTSTEHT

«Trump-Wall» is taking shape!

Nachdem wir am 14.11.2019 in Rodeo, New Mexico, das Chiricahua Desert Museum besucht hatten, fuhren wir durch eine wüstenhafte Landschaft weiter südwärts. Bald waren wir wieder in Arizona und erreichten eine gute Stunde später Douglas. Dieses Städtchen mit 16’000 Einwohnern grenzt an Mexiko und ist stark mit dem Nachbarland verbunden. Ausserhalb der Stadt sieht man auf die Ruta 2 in Mexiko, die entlang der Grenze führt.

Wir suchten ausserhalb von Douglas nach einem ruhigen Schlafplatz. So nahe an der Grenze galt es vorsichtig zu sein. Die Border Control patrouilliert das Gelände  Tag und Nacht, um unliebsame Einwanderer aus dem Süden einzufangen. Dafür, dass die erst gar nicht ins Land gelangen, soll die Trump-Mauer sorgen, die zurzeit entlang der Grenze gebaut wird. Auf unserer Fahrt zum Übernachtungsplatz sahen wir eine Menge Caterpillar-Baumaschinen. Riesige Kranen waren dabei meterhohe Mauer-Elemente aufzurichten. Es war seltsam in dieser menschenleeren Gegend eine neun Meter hohe Mauer zu sehen. Ob sie das bringt, was sich Trump von ihr erhofft?

PS: Die Meinungen über die Mauer sind in den USA so geteilt, wie die über Donald Trump! Hier beklagen viele vor allem den hohen Wasserverbrauch für den Mauerbau. Wasser ist im Süden von Arizona knapp!