15. February 2018

A night on the Beagles Channel

Beagles Channel - the gateway to Antarctica

Our wish to travel from Ushuaia to South Georgia was unfortunately not fulfilled. Gabriel, owner of the travel agency Freestyle, told us that for this year there will be no more trips to from Ushuaia to South Georgia. And the Antarctic cruises no longer return back here, but head directly north to Buenos Aires. Little use for us when Mahangu is standing in Ushuaia! But Gabriel said, «There would still be a” cheap “offer to travel to Antarctica – together with 180 Chinese”. We didn’t have to think about it for long before we waved this offer off. Sharing the ship for more than two weeks with 180 smacking and belching Chinese (they have a different etiquette of behavior than Europeans) was not to our liking; even if the trip would be for free! But it would have cost about CHF 10,000.–, per person!

Once again, the plans had to be changed. We decided to take a trip to the Beagles Channel, named after the ship HMS Beagle, which brought Darwin to this region in 1832. The captain’s name was Robert Fitz Roy. At that time, he was only 27 years old! One of the most beautiful mountain ranges in the world, Cerro Fitz Roy, near El Chaltén, in Argentina is named after him! (Of course we have visited it!)

What a feeling, when the majestic canal that the ships sail through from Ushuaia to Antarctica, appeared before us. We could hardly get enough of it. The next morning, we visited the Estancia Harberton, which is located on the Beagles Channel. It is run by the same family in the sixth generation. The ancestor is Thomas Bridges, an Anglican missionary from England, who came here in 1886 and had the task of convincing the Yaghan (native people) of the benefits of the Christian faith.

This one picture gives an impression of what we have seen! You can see more of it in a few days on our website!

15. Februar 2018

Eine Nacht am Beagles Channel

Beagles Channel - the gateway to Antarctica

Unser Wunsch von Ushuaia aus nach Süd-Georgien zu fahren, ging leider nicht in Erfüllung. Gabriel, Besitzer des Reisebüros Freestyle, sagte uns, dass dieses Jahr ab Ushuaia keine Reisen nach Süd-Georgien mehr stattfinden. Und die Antarktis-Kreuzfahrten kehren nicht mehr hierher zurück, sondern nehmen Kurs Nord, um in Buenos Aires anzulegen. Wenig nützlich für uns, wenn Mahangu in Ushuaia steht! Doch, meinte Gabriel, »Da wäre noch ein „günstiges“ Angebot in die Antarktis zu fahren – zusammen mit 180 Chinesen». Da mussten wir nicht lange überlegen, um abzuwinken. Mit 180 schmatzenden und rülpsenden Chinesen (die haben eine andere Benimm-Etikette als Europäer) das Schiff für mehr als zwei Wochen zu teilen, das war nicht nach unserem Geschmack; selbst wenn der Trip gratis gewesen wäre! Doch auch er hätte an die CHF 10’000.– gekostet – pro Person!

Einmal mehr galt es also die Pläne zu ändern. Wir entschieden uns für einen Ausflug an den Beagles Channel, benannt nach dem Schiff, HMS Beagle, das Darwin im Jahre 1832 in diese Region brachte. Der Kapitän übrigens hiess Robert Fitz Roy. Der war damals erst 27 Jahre alt; nach ihm ist eine der schönsten Bergketten der Welt, Cerro Fitz Roy, bei El Chaltén, in Argentinien benannt! (Klar, dass wir die besucht haben!)

Was für ein Gefühl, als der majestätische Kanal, via den die Schiffe ab Ushuaia in die Antarktis fahren, vor uns auftauchte. Wir konnten uns kaum satt sehen.  Am nächsten Morgen besuchten wir die Estancia Harberton, die am Beagles Channel liegt. Sie wird in sechster Generation von der gleichen Familie geführt. Der Ahnherr ist Thomas Bridges, ein anglikanischer Missionar aus England, der 1886 hierherkam und die Aufgabe hatte, die Yaghan, (Ureinwohner) vom Nutzen des christlichen Glaubens zu überzeugen.

Einen Eindruck, was wir zu sehen bekamen, gibt dieses eine Bild! Mehr davon gibt es in ein paar Tagen auf unserer Webseite zu sehen!