1. December 2019

LOCKED IN!

No Way Out!

After the 400,000 km service on our car we left Tucson on four new tires and with two new batteries. A good feeling to get seated behind the wheel in the morning, turn the key and hear the engine hum.

Rain was forecasted for the next few days and so we drove south. But not for long, because soon it started to rain very heavy here as well. We decided to head back to Tucson and spend the days in the two beautiful Saguaro National Parks, which are located in the area.

On the return trip we made a detour to Collosal Cave. We passed an open barrier and found a place to camp shortly before it got dark. It rained all night, but luckily no more when we packed the next morning. Let’s change places! But that was easier said than done. The barrier that was open yesterday was closed! And there was a second one behind us which was locked as well. We were caught! What now? The only open path led to the ranch. There we met Dave, who smelled of alcohol. But Dave also had the key to open the lock and the barrier. We were free again. Thank you, Dave!

PS. Dave lived in Switzerland for twelve years, is married to a Swiss and has a Swiss passport. But he did not speak any Swiss German …

1. Dezember 2019

EINGESPERRT!

No Way Out!

Nach dem 400’000 km Service verliessen wir Tucson auf vier neuen Reifen und mit zwei neuen Batterien. Ein gutes Gefühl am Morgen hinter das Steuer zu sitzen, den Zündschlüssel zu drehen und den Motor brummen zu hören.

Für die nächsten Tage war Regen gemeldet und so fuhren wir südwärts. Aber nicht für lange, denn bald begann der Himmel auch hier seine Schleusen zu öffnen. Wir beschlossen zurück nach Tucson zu fahren und die Tage in den beiden Saguaro-Nationalparks zu verbringen, die in der Umgebung liegen.

Auf der Rückreise machten wir einen Abstecher zur Collosal Cave. Wir passierten eine offene Schranke und fanden kurz bevor es dunkel wurde einen Platz zum Campieren. Es regnete die ganze Nacht, aber nicht mehr als wir am nächsten Morgen packten. Nur weg von hier! Doch das war leichter gesagt als getan. Die Schranke, die gestern offenstand, war geschlossen. Und die hinter uns auch. Wir waren gefangen! Was jetzt? Der einzige offene Weg führte zur Ranch. Dort trafen wir auf Dave, der nach Alkohol roch. Doch Dave hatte auch den Schlüssel, mit dem er das Schloss und die Schranke öffnen konnte. Wir waren wieder frei. Thank you Dave!

PS. Dave lebte zwölf Jahre in der Schweiz, ist mit einer Schweizerin verheiratet und hat einen Schweizer Pass. Doch Schweizerdeutsch sprach er nicht…