10. December 2019

IT’S IN EXTENSION!

The Journey goes on!

Football knows the Extra Time. When it comes to determining the winner in a cup match, which is tied at the end of the official play time, then it goes into Extra time. Or even in the penalty shootout.

It was October 13, 2019, driving to West Wendover, Utah, as we discussed an extension of the other kind. Namely, the one of this trip. We realized on that day that two-thirds of our three-year journey is already over. When we left Switzerland in the autumn of 2017, we rented our house until the end of 2020. This means we have to be back home then. The question was: do we want that?

We knew that our tenants feel very comfortable in our house. So why not ask if they want to extend the contract for another year? If we know that, then we can plan the onward journey and decide how to proceed! Said and done. One day later we had the answer. Our tenants are happy to live in our house for another year. And we are happy to travel one more year more! This is called a Win-Win situation!

PS: If everything goes according to plan, we will reach Switzerland in autumn 2021 coming from Siberia. Unless there is another extension …

10. Dezember 2019

ES GEHT IN DIE VERLÄNGERUNG!

The Journey goes on!

Vom Fussball her kennt man die Verlängerung. Wenn es darum geht, bei einem Cup-Spiel den Gewinner der Partie zu ermitteln, die bei offiziellem Spielschluss unentschieden steht, dann geht es in die Verlängerung. Oder sogar ins Penalty-Schiessen.

Am 13. Oktober 2019, auf der Fahrt nach West Wendover, in Utah, diskutierten wir über eine Verlängerung der anderen Art. Nämlich über diejenige dieser Reise. Wir realisierten an diesem Tag, dass zwei Drittel unserer, auf drei Jahre angelegten Reise, bereits vorbei sind. Als wir die Schweiz im Herbst 2017 verliessen, vermieteten wir unser Haus bis im Herbst 2020. Das bedeutet, dass wir dann wieder zuhause sein müssen. Die Frage war: Wollen wir das?

Wir wussten, dass sie sich die Mieter in unserem Haus sehr wohl fühlen. Weshalb also nicht fragen, ob sie den Vertrag um ein weiteres Jahr verlängern wollen? Wenn wir das wissen, dann können wir entscheiden, wie es weitergeht! Gesagt, getan. Bereits einen Tag später hatten wir die Antwort. Unsere Mieter freuen sich, ein weiteres Jahr in unserem Haus zu wohnen. Und wir freuen uns, ein Jahr länger zu reisen. Das nennt man eine Win-Win-Situation.

PS: Läuft alles nach Plan, dann werden wir die Schweiz im Herbst 2021 – von Sibirien herkommend – erreichen. Es sei denn, es gibt nochmals eine Verlängerung…