30. October 2018

Coconut Road

Land of Bounty!

We left Maceio on 26.10.2018. Behind we left Cristina, Noemi and Lucky, who showed us the city and its surroundings from the best side. The temptation was great to stay even over the weekend. But a look at the calendar showed that our visa for Brazil expires in just over three weeks. Then we have to leave the country.

We followed the Litoral Norte. In contrast to the BR 101, it follows the coast and does not lead through the rather dull interior. We passed through towns where it was obvious that the country was close to the election of the next president. On October 28, 1818, the Brazilians decide between two crooks: Jair Bolsonaro, on the extreme right and Fernando Haddad, a descendant of Lula, (who is now in prison), on the left. No heady selection. (Meanwhile, Bolsonaro was voted with about 55% of the vote.)

In the late afternoon, we met the most beautiful part of the coast. Here began our Estrada do Cocos. It leads along palm beaches that are suitable for a commercial for Bounty. The narrow road meanders through thousands of palm trees along the coast. In between glittered the turquoise blue shimmering sea and white beaches! What a day! The Estrada do Cocos is probably the most beautiful coastal road that we have driven so far.

30. Oktober 2018

Kokospalmen-Strasse

Land of Bounty!

Wir verliessen Maceio am 26.10.2018. Zurück liessen wir Cristina, Noemi und Lucky, die uns die Stadt und ihre Umgebung von der besten Seite gezeigt haben. Die Versuchung war gross auch noch übers Weekend zu bleiben. Doch ein Blick in den Kalender zeigte, dass unser Visa für Brasilien in gut drei Wochen abläuft. Dann müssen wir das Land verlassen haben.

Wir folgten der Litoral Norte. Im Gegensatz zur BR 101 folgt sie der Küste und führt nicht durch das eher öde Inland. Wir durchquerten Städtchen, in denen spürbar war, dass das Land kurz vor der Wahl des Präsidenten steht. Am 28.10.2018 entscheiden sich die Brasilianer zwischen zwei Gaunern: Jair Bolsonaro, auf der ultrarechten und Fernando Haddad, ein Abkömmling Lulas, (der steckt inzwischen im Gefängnis), auf der linken Seite. Keine berauschende Auswahl. (Unterdessen wurde Bolsonaro mit rund 55 % der Stimmen gewählt.)

Am späteren Nachmittag, trafen wir auf den schönsten Teil der Küste. Hier begann unsere Estrada do Cocos. Sie führt entlang von Palmenstränden, die geeignet für einen Werbespot für Bounty sind. Die schmale Strasse schlängelt sich durch Tausenden von Palmen entlang der Küste. Dazwischen glitzerten das türkisblau schimmernde Meer und weisse Strände! Was für ein Tag! Die Estrada do Cocos ist wohl die schönste Küstenstrasse, die wir bisher gefahren sind.