29. December 2018

EUROPE’S WINDOW TO SPACE

Rendez-vous with Ariane 5

The US has Cape Canaveral. The Russians have Baikonur. And the Europeans have Kourou to shoot rockets into space! Kourou is a small town about 70 kilometers from Cayenne. Actually, a town to pass by, if there were not the space station of the Europeans. From here, Ariane, Soyuz and Vega rockets are brought into orbit with satellites on board. On December 24, 1979, the first Ariane rocket had been launched in Kourou.

However, the CSG (Center Spaciale Guyanais) is not just a matter of the French and the «Grande Nation». Also, in attendance is the ESA (European Space Agency) and thus also Switzerland! Thus, in addition to the Tricolore and many other European flags also that of Switzerland can be seen – even on the Ariane! (She is the only one who is square, which makes her extraordinary as well.)

Why did the French opt for Kourou after giving up their station in Algeria? There are important reasons for this: Kourou is close to the equator; that is, where the gravitational acceleration is greatest. This saves fuel to accelerate the rockets and at the same time increases the payload of the missiles by 15 – 30%. (An Ariane V can carry up to 6 tons of load into space.) Further Kourou is not endangered by earthquakes, the area is sparsely populated and rockets are launched across the ocean. And there are no hurricanes here either!

This is why Kourou is increasingly becoming the preferred starting point for customers from all over the world. And the Ariane, the preferred missile. If it is too big for the customer, then he can opt for the smaller and therefore cheaper Soyuz rocket of Russian provenance or for the VEGA, which is mainly built by the Italians.

We only missed the launch of a Soyuz rocket by a few days. But we got to know the crew that assembled the rocket here. Well, we can also speak some chunks of Russian! Nasdrovje Tovarich!

29. Dezember 2018

EUROPAS WELTRAUM-BAHNHOF

Rendez-vous with Ariane 5

Die USA haben Cape Canaveral. Die Russen haben Baikonur. Und die Europäer haben Kourou, um Raketen in den Weltraum zu schiessen! Kourou ist eine Kleinstadt, runde 70 Kilometer von Cayenne entfernt. Eigentlich ein Städtchen zum Vorbeifahren, wenn da nicht der Weltraum-Bahnhof der Europäer wäre. Von hier werden Ariane-, Sojus- und Vega-Raketen mit Satelliten an Bord auf eine Erdumlaufbahn gebracht. Am 24. Dezember 1979 startete in Kourou die erste Ariane-Rakete.

Das CSG (Centre Spaciale Guyanais) ist jedoch nicht nur eine Sache der Grande Nation. Mit dabei ist auch die ESA (European Space Agency) und damit auch die Schweiz! So ist neben der Tricolore und vielen andern europäischen Flaggen auch diejenige der Schweiz zu sehen – sogar auf der Ariane! (Die Schweizer Flagge ist die einzige, die quadratisch ist, was sie auch deshalb aussergewöhnlich macht.)

Weshalb haben sich die Franzosen für Kourou entschieden, nachdem sie ihre Station in Algerien aufgeben mussten? Dazu gibt es gewichtige Gründe: Kourou liegt nahe am Äquator; also dort, wo die Erdrotation optimal ist. Das spart Treibstoff, um die Raketen zu beschleunigen und erhöht die Nutzlast der Raketen um 15 – 30 %.  (Eine Ariane V kann bis 6 Tonnen Last in den Weltraum befördern.) Es kommt dazu, dass Kourou nicht erdbebengefährdet und die Gegend wenig besiedelt ist. Zudem können die Raketen über den Ozean gestartet werden. Und Hurricans gibt es hier auch keine!

So wird Kourou mehr und mehr der bevorzugte Startplatz für Kunden aus aller Welt. Und die Ariane, die bevorzugte Rakete. Ist sie für den Kunden zu gross, dann kann er sich für die günstigere Sojus-Rakete russischer Provenienz oder für die VEGA entscheiden, die massgeblich von den Italienern gebaut wird.

Wir verpassten den Start einer Sojus-Rakete nur um ein paar Tage. Aber wir lernten die Crew kennen, die die Rakete hier zusammenbaute. Gut, dass wir auch ein paar Brocken russisch können! Nasdrowie Towaritsch!