3. August 2018

Finally vacation!

Enjoying South-Tirol in Italy

Most people think that you are on vacation if you travel – as we currently do. Only those who have traveled themselves for a long time know that traveling is not a vacation; and that you have to take holidays from time to time. We used my niece’s wedding and my father-in-law’s birthday to fly for three weeks to Switzerland to go on vacation.

In Alsace – where one eats and drinks like God in France – we celebrated the wedding of my godchild. Together with many young, pretty Frenchmen, who are part of the couple’s circle of friends. It was a good mix as it turned out. How else would it have happened that we danced with peoples who are twenty to forty years younger until four o’clock in the morning? These were two unforgettable days in the circle of people who could have been our children or grandchildren!

Travelers never keep it in the same place for too long. So it was not surprising that we did not celebrate the 80th birthday of my father-in-law in Switzerland. We did that extensively in South Tyrol, in a beautiful hotel, in beautiful surroundings and with perfect weather: www.royal-hinterhuber.com

We will use the remaining days until our departure on the 12th of August 2018 to visit our friends who are living around Zurich. We are looking forward to that and the special dishes we are treated with! (We can lose weight again when we are back on the journey – smile!)

3. August 2018

Endlich Ferien!

Enjoying South-Tirol in Italy

Die meisten Leute denken, dass man auf einer Reise, wie wir sie zurzeit unternehmen, in den Ferien weilt. Nur die, die selbst über einen längeren Zeitraum gereist sind, wissen, dass Reisen keine Ferien sind; und dass man hin und wieder Ferien vom Reisen machen muss.

Wir nutzten die Hochzeit meiner Nichte und den Geburtstag meines Schwiegervaters, um für drei Wochen in die Schweiz zu fliegen und Ferien zu machen. Im Elsass – dort wo man isst und trinkt wie Gott in Frankreich – feierten wir die Hochzeit meines Patenkindes. Zusammen mit vielen jungen, hübschen Französinnen und Franzosen, die zum Freundeskreis des Ehepaars zählen. Es war eine gute Mischung wie sich herausstellte. Wie sonst wäre es dazu gekommen, dass wir mit zwanzig bis vierzig Jahren Jüngeren bis um vier Uhr morgens tanzten? Es waren zwei unvergessliche Tage im Kreis von Menschen, die unsere Kinder oder Grosskinder hätten sein können!

Reisende hält es ja nie allzu lange Zeit am gleichen Ort. So war es nicht erstaunlich, dass wir den 80. Geburtstag meines Schwiegervaters nicht in der Schweiz feierten. Wir taten das ausgiebig im Südtirol in einem schönen Hotel, in einer wunderschönen Umgebung und bei schönstem Wetter: www.royal-hinterhuber.com

Die restlichen Tage, die uns bis zur Abreise am 12. August 2018 noch bleiben, werden wir dazu nutzen, um Freunde zu besuchen, die rund um Zürich leben. Darauf freuen wir uns. Und natürlich auch darauf, dass wir mit Liebe bekocht werden! (Abnehmen können wir ja dann wieder, wenn wir auf Reisen sind – smile!)