1. July 2018

Fiesta in Altos

Machos in Action

Being in the right place at the right time does not always work out. Sometimes you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time; we know what we talk about! But on 29.6.2018 we were once again in the right place: At Hasta la Pasta, a well-known meeting place in the Overlander scene, close to Altos, about 40 kilometers from Asunción. When we got there, we were told that in a few days the fiesta will take place in honor of St. Peter and St. Paul, my namesake.

With four other Overlanders, who also take a break here, we went to the festival on foot. That one took place was not to be missed, because the night before we heard music until four o’clock in the morning! When we saw the huge loud-speakers, we knew why the music was heard even at our place – distance 1’000 meters!

An 8-man orchestra played on an improvised stage. They gave everything! And the loud speakers too. More than a dozen riders – each with a can of beer in hand – stood at bay with their horses. We were waiting for the things to come. The speaker in incomprehensible Spanish talked and talked; everything we understood was “adelante”. Then the first rider rushed forward and performed incredible pirouettes on his horse or whatever these figures are called. After his presentation, one after another followed – even a woman was among them. The horses wore silver jewelery, some horsemen spurs, what showed at the horse flanks! (We wondered if this is not about macho posturing anymore than riding) 

At one of the many food stalls we bought ourselves tamales and a few cans of cold beer – so we were in good company with the riders, who were rarely seen without one. At another stall, I bought a beautiful bird made out of wood, which is carved here. It is a Tucan carrying a banana in its beak. Brigitta said after that she actually already had a bird! Who did she mean by that?

1. Juli 2018

Fiesta in Altos

Machos in Action

Zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort zu sein gelingt nicht immer. Manchmal ist man zur falschen Zeit am falschen Ort – davon können wir ein Lied singen! Doch am 29.6.2018 waren wir wieder einmal am richtigen Ort: im „Hasta la Pasta“, einem in der Szene gut bekannten Overlander-Treffpunkt in Altos, runde 40 Kilometer von Asunción entfernt. Als wir dort ankamen, wurden wir darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass in einigen Tagen die Fiesta zu Ehren von St. Peter und St. Paul, mein Namensvetter, stattfindet.

Mit vier weiteren Overlandern, die ebenfalls im „Hasta la Pasta“ Pause machen, ging’s zu Fuss zum Fest. Dass eines stattfand war nicht zu überhören, denn die Nacht vorher hörten wir Musik bis um vier Uhr in der Früh! Als wir die riesigen Lautsprecher sahen, wussten wir, weshalb die Musik bis zu uns – Entfernung 1’000 Meter! – zu hören war.

Auf einer improvisierten Bühne spielte ein 8-Mann-Orchester. Die gaben alles! Und die Lautsprecher auch. Gut ein Dutzend Reiter – jeder mit einer Dose Bier in der Hand –  standen mit ihren Pferden bereit. Wir harrten der Dinge, die da kommen sollten. Der Sprecher redete in einem unverständlichen Spanisch und alles was wir verstanden, war „adelante“. Dann preschte der erste Reiter vor und vollführte auf seinem Pferd unglaubliche Pirouetten oder wie immer diese Figuren heissen. Nach seiner Vorstellung folgte einer nach dem andern – selbst eine Frau war darunter. Die Pferde trugen Silberschmuck, einige Reiter Sporen, was man den Pferdeflanken ansah! (Wir fragten uns, ob das nicht mehr mit Macho-Gehabe als mit Reiten zu tun hat!)

An einem der vielen Essstände kauften wir uns Tamales und ein paar Dosen kaltes Bier – damit waren wir in guter Gesellschaft mit den Reitern, die man selten ohne Bierdose sah. An einem anderen Stand kaufte ich einen schönen Vogel aus Holz, die hier angefertigt werden. Es ist ein Tucan, der eine Banane im Schnabel trägt. Brigitta meinte danach, dass sie eigentlich schon einen Vogel hätte! Wen sie wohl damit meinte?