28. February 2018

Guanacos instead of Camarones!

Guanaco

From Puerto San Julian we followed the coast. Once again, we preferred a track. It led us several hundred kilometers along the coast. Fantastic! In the following days we met no more than half a dozen vehicles! The night at the Bahia Laura will be unforgettable. We had a beautiful stone beach for ourselves. (Brigitta has certainly collected a kilogram of stones that she wants to take home!) A fisherman wanted to give us a roballo; but our fridge was too small!

Mahangu had earned a service in Comodore Rivadavia. The speedometer showed 327,000 kilometers; it was time to change filters and oil. In addition, he got a “fat cure”, that is, he was completely lubricated. Then we continued our drive towards Peninsula Valdez. That means a detour of 1’000 kilometers. But what is it, if you know that you can meet orcas there, that hunt for a seal! The thought about it was like an appetizer!

Of Camarones, a small port town we had only fond memories. I ate the best shrimp cocktail there in 2001! So, what could be better than inviting Brigitta to a crab treat? But nothing came of it – there is no season for Camarones at the moment. We compensated with a visit to Cabo des los dos Bahias. There we saw penguins, sea lions, waterfowl and gunanacos. One looked quite true hearted into the camera of Brigitta! (Guanacos could never be domesticated unlike llamas!)

28. Februar 2018

Guanacos statt Camarones!

Guanaco

Von Puerto San Julian folgten wir der Küste. Wir gaben einmal mehr einer Naturstrasse den Vorzug. Sie führte uns mehrere hundert Kilometer der Küste entlang. Fantastisch! In den folgenden Tagen begegnete uns nicht mehr als ein halbes Dutzend Fahrzeuge! Die Nacht an der Bahia Laura wird uns unvergesslich bleiben. Wir hatten einen wunderschönen Steinstrand für uns alleine. (Brigitta hat sicher ein Kilogramm Steine gesammelt, die sie mit nach Hause nehmen will!) Ein Fischer wollte uns einen Roballo schenken; doch unser Kühlschrank war zu klein!

Im Comodore Rivadavia hatte Mahangu einen Service verdient. Der Tacho zeigte 327’000 Kilometer; es war Zeit Filter und Öl zu wechseln. Zudem bekam er eine „Fettkur“ verpasst, das heisst, er wurde rundum abgeschmiert. Danach setzten wir unsere Fahrt in Richtung Peninsula Valdez fort. Das bedeutet zwar einen „Umweg“ von 1’000 Kilometern. Doch was ist das schon, wenn man weiss, dass man dort auf Orcas treffen kann, die sich eine Robbe genehmigen – da kommt gleich Appetit auf!

An Camarones, ein kleines Hafenstädtchen hatten wir nur gute Erinnerungen. Ich ass dort 2001 den besten Crevetten-Cocktail! Was lag also näher als Brigitta zu einem Krabbenschmaus einzuladen. Doch daraus wurde nichts – zurzeit ist keine Saison für Camarones. Wir entschädigten uns mit einem Besuch am Cabo des los dos Bahias. Dort bekamen wir Pinguine, Seelöwen, Wasservögel und Gunanacos zu sehen. Eines schaute Brigitta ganz treuherzig in die Kamera! (Guanacos konnten im Gegensatz zu den Lamas nie domestiziert werden!)