8. March 2019

AT THE HARBOR OF VERACRUZ

March 9th 2019: Finally our car arrived!

On Monday, March 4th, 2019, we drove from Puebla to Veracruz. The ship with our container reached Veracruz on March 1st and it would take another couple of days before we could get our car. An additional problem was that it is currently Carnival in Veracruz. And during this time people work only conditionally!

Two days later we drove with Emilio to the Banjercito, the state bank. There you get the permission to bring a car temporarily into Mexico. Usually this takes about half an hour. But today was the day when retired soldiers, police and civil servants picked up their pensions. When we arrived at 8.45 am, people stood in line a hundred meters long in front of the bank!

Emilio guided us to the desk number 8, where Laura sat behind the counter. She smiled at me and especially at Emilio and asked us to wait a moment. But then a few things came up. The payment by credit card didn’t work. No worries as we had enough cash with us. But the officials need a special permit to receive cash payments – perhaps because of the rampant corruption in Mexico? This permit had to be obtained in Mexico City. So, the waiting continued! It was 2 pm until I could deposit the amount of 1’100 pesos (around US$ 60.-) at the counter. It was the counter where admirals and generals pick up their pension!

The next morning Mauricio, a company employee, sent us this photograph from the port in Veracruz. It shows that Mahangu has finally been released from its container-cage …

8. März 2019

IM HAFEN VON VERACRUZ

Am Montag, 4. März 2019, fuhren wir von Puebla nach Veracruz zurück. Das Schiff mit unserem Container erreichte Veracruz am 1. März 2019. Doch da alle Anlegeplätze besetzt waren, lag es einen Tag auf Reede. Bis wir das Fahrzeug in Empfang nehmen können, würden nochmals ein paar Tage vergehen. In Veracruz ist jetzt Carneval. Und während dieser Zeit wird nur bedingt gearbeitet!

Zwei Tage später fuhren wir mit Emilio zur Banjercito, die staatliche Bank. Dort erhält man die Bewilligung, um ein Auto temporär nach Mexiko einzuführen. Normalerweise eine Sache von einer halben Stunde. Doch heute war der Tag, an dem pensionierte Soldaten, Polizisten und Staatsbeamte ihre Pension abholten. Als wir um 8.45 Uhr eintrafen, stand bereits eine hundert Meter lange Menschenschlange vor der Bank!

Emilio schleuste uns zum Schalter Nummer 8, wo Laura hinter der Theke sass. Sie lächelte mich und vor allem Emilio an und bat uns, einen Moment zu warten. Doch dann kamen ein paar Dinge dazwischen. Die Bezahlung per Kreditkarte funktionierte ausgerechnet hier nicht. Wir hatten zwar genug Cash dabei. Doch die Beamten brauchen eine Bewilligung, um Bargeld entgegenzunehmen – vielleicht aufgrund der grassierenden Korruption? Diese Bewilligung musste in Mexiko City eingeholt werden. Das Warten ging weiter! Es wurde 14 Uhr bis ich den Betrag von 1’100 Pesos (CHF 60.-) am Schalter einzahlen konnte. Es war derjenige, wo Admiräle und Generäle ihre Pension abholen!

Am nächsten Morgen sandte uns Mauricio, ein Mitarbeiter der Firma, diese Aufnahme vom Hafen in Veracruz. Sie zeigt, dass Mahangu endlich aus seinem Gefängnis befreit ist …