18. May 2019

LAND OF THE BUFFALO

Try-on in Merlin's Hide Out, Thermopolis, Wyoming

Wyoming is the state of cowboys, cattle, rodeos and bisons. The Wyoming license plate, which show a cowboy on a horse during a rodeo testify to this.

In Thermopolis, an apt name for a town fed by hot springs, we drove to the State Park where one can splash for free for twenty minutes in 100 Fahrenheit hot water. Almost more important than the hot water pool, was the hot shower. The first after five days, during which we washed ourselves every morning just with very, very cold water!

Well recovered we drove to Kirby where the Wyoming Whiskey is made. «The first legal distillery» in this state, as stated in the prospectus. We tasted two whiskeys and bought two bottles for our emergency supply: www.wyomingwhiskey.com 

Back in Thermopolis we visited Merlin’s Hide Out www.merlinshideout.com where trappers, adventurers, oil workers, playboys and -girls shop. Belonging to the group of adventurers it was obvious to pay a visit to this business. What we saw there, makes an animal lover’s hair stand on end. But we do not see it that tight! If bison are bred for meat production, then you can make beautiful fur coats too. Furs that give wonderfully warm as Brigitta discovered when she slipped for fun into one. I wrapped myself in a coyote fur and felt like a real cowboy! (Please don’t tell anyone!)

PS. Kurt Russell wore a coat made in this store starring in the movie “The Hateful Eight”.

18. Mai 2019

IM LAND DES BISON

Try-on in Merlin's Hide Out, Thermopolis, Wyoming

Wyoming ist der Staat der Cowboys, der Rinder, der Rodeos und der Bisons. Davon zeugen auch die Wyoming-Nummernschilder, die einen Cowboy auf einem Pferd beim Rodeo zeigen.

In Thermopolis, ein treffender Name für ein Städtchen, das von heissen Quellen gespeist wird, fuhren wir zum State Park. Dort kann man gratis für zwanzig Minuten in 100 Fahrenheit heissem Wasser plantschen. Fast noch wichtiger als das heisse Wasser, das 27 verschiedene Mineralien aufweist, war für uns die heisse Dusche. Es war die erste seit fünf Tagen, während denen wir uns mit sehr kaltem Wasser wuschen!

Gut erholt und fein duftend fuhren wir anschliessend nach Kirby. Dort wird der Wyoming Whiskey hergestellt. «The first legal distillery» in diesem Staat, wie im Prospekt steht. Wir verkosteten zwei Whiskeys und kauften zwei Flaschen für unseren Notvorrat: www.wyomingwhiskey.com

Zurück in Thermopolis besuchten wir Merlin’s Hide Out www.merlinshideout.com wo Trapper, Abenteurer, Ölarbeiter, Playboys und -girls einkaufen. Wir gehören zur Gruppe Abenteurer und so lag es nahe, diesem Geschäft einen Besuch abzustatten. Was wir dort sahen, lässt einem Tierfreund die Haare zu Berge stehen. Doch wir sehen das nicht so eng! Werden Bisons für die Fleischproduktion gezüchtet, dann kann man aus dem Fell auch schöne Mäntel machen. Solche, die herrlich warm geben wie Brigitta feststellte, als sie zum Spass in einen schlüpfte. Ich hüllte mich in einen Coyote-Mantel und fühlte mich wie ein richtiger Trapper – bitte nicht weitersagen!

PS. Kurt Russell trug im Film «The Hateful Eight» einen Mantel aus diesem Laden.