11. November 2018

SIDETRIP

Sidetrip: November 23rd until December 10th, 2018

At the top of our Bucket List is a visit to South Georgia, also known as the «Galapagos of the Poles». When we were in Ushuaia at the beginning of the year, we tried everything to make a detour to this island. But we were too late. The season for travel to this area was drawing to a close. And the ships that were still sailing all went to Antarctica. But we visited it in 2001 on board the Russian icebreaker Kapitan Dranitsyn. And we didn’t want to repeat a unforgettable trip like this one on a deeper level.

Before we left Ushuaia, however, we deposited our interest for a tour to South Georgia with two travel agencies. And then, on 8.11.2018, we received an e-mail from Antarctica Travels. The tour advertised there was tailor-made for us: 17 days on an ice-strengthened ship with only 132 passengers. The trip with the Ocean Adventurer from 23.11. – 9.12.2018 would take us exactly where we always wanted to go: to the Falkland Islands (Malvinas for the Argentines) and to South Georgia where Ernest Shackleton 1915 sought help for the crew of his ship Endurance, that was frozen in Antarctica. A place steeped in history. And one where you can see king penguins, sea elephants, albatross and seals in large number.

When we saw the price (Last Minute offer) it was clear to us: This is the opportunity to make this dream come true and to remove something from our bucket list. On 10.11.2018 Brigitta also celebrated her 55th birthday and I didn’t have to worry about what I could give as a present to her!

The next day passed with the money transfer, with flight and hotel reservations and other clarifications. In the evening it was clear: On 22.11.2018 we will fly from Belem to Ushuaia and on 10.12.2018 back again. In between there will be an unforgettable tour to the Falkland Islands and South Georgia!

11. November 2018

EIN ABSTECHER

Sidetrip: November 23rd until December 10th, 2018

Ganz oben auf unserer Bucket-List steht ein Besuch von Süd-Georgien, das auch als «Galapagos der Pole» bekannt ist. Als wir anfangs des Jahres in Ushuaia waren, versuchten wir alles, um einen Abstecher dorthin zu machen. Doch wir waren zu spät. Die Saison für Reisen in diese Gegend neigte sich dem Ende entgegen. Die Schiffe, die noch ausliefen, gingen alle in die Antarktis. Doch die haben wir 2001 mit dem russischen Eisbrecher Kapitan Dranitsyn besucht. Und etwas so Aussergewöhnliches auf einem tieferen Level wiederholen, wollten wir nicht.

Bevor wir Ushuaia verliessen, deponierten wir jedoch bei zwei Reise-Agenturen unser Interesse für eine Tour nach Süd-Georgien. Und dann, am 8.11.2018, erhielten wir von Antarctica Travels eine E-Mail. Die darin ausgeschriebene Tour war wie zugeschnitten auf uns: 17 Tage auf einem eisverstärkten Schiff mit nur 132 Passagieren. Die Fahrt mit der Ocean Adventurer würde uns vom 23.11. – 9.12.2018 genau dorthin führen, wo wir schon immer hinwollten: auf die Falkland-Inseln (Malvinas für die Argentinier) und nach Süd-Georgien. Dorthin, wo Ernest Shackleton 1915 Hilfe für die Besatzung seines Schiffes Endurance suchte, das in der Antarktis festgefroren war. Ein geschichtsträchtiger Ort. Und einer wo sich Königs-Pinguine, Albatrosse, See-Elefanten und Robben guten Tag wünschen!

Als wir den Preis sahen (Last Minute Angebot) war uns klar: Das ist die Gelegenheit, diesen Traum wahrzumachen und etwas von unserer Bucket List zu streichen. Am 10.11.2018 feierte Brigitta zudem ihren 55. Geburtstag und ich musste mir nicht Gedanken machen, was ich ihr schenken könnte!

Der nächste Tag verging mit der Geld-Überweisung, mit Flug- und Hotel-Reservationen und anderen Abklärungen. Abends stand fest: Am 22.11.2018 fliegen wir von Belem nach Ushuaia und am 10.12.2018 von dort zurück. Dazwischen wird eine unvergessliche Tour zu den Falkland-Inseln und Süd-Georgien liegen!