21. May 2018

About Pisco and Observatories

May 19th 2018: Pisco Festival in Pisco Elqui, Chile

After visiting some of the well-known wineries in Central Chile, we made a detour to the Valle Casablanca. We rounded Santiago in a big circel – we visited the city 18 years ago and it has not become more beautiful. The wineries in Valle Casablanca, we did not particularly like – they were gigantic and mostly along the highway. Shortly before Valparaiso we turned north.

Through the hinterland, via the beautiful Valle Hurtado and the Paso Tres Cruzes we reached the Valle Elqui. In this valley mainly Moscato and Pedro Jimenez grapes are grown from which Pisco is produced. Pisco is the national drink of the Chileans as well as the Peruvians. Both countries claim to have «invented» the drink. The dispute resulted in a former Chilean President renaming a place in Valle Elqui, formerly known as La Union, Pisco Elqui. But even that did not help, because according to sources, the Pisco was mentioned in 1613 for the first time in a document in Peru! Brothers fight or not! The best thing made out of this grapes is the Pisco sour. The ingredients are: Pisco (40%), ice cubes, sugar and fresh lemon juice. The most important thing, however, are the sweet grapes. And these grow in the Valle Elqui, where we were shortly after the grape harvest,

Another attraction in this part of the country are the observatories. Dry air, heights of up to 5’000 meters and little light pollution create the best conditions to look into space. The first we visited was the Observatorio Cruz del Sur. It has no scientific function and is geared towards tourism. Another well-known observatory for scientific purposes is the observatory Cerro Tololo. Further north are the observatories Cerro La Silla, Las Campanas and, at the very top of the north, near Iquique, the Obseravatorio Cerro Paranal, operated by the ESO (European Southern Hemsisphere Observatory): https://www.eso.org/public/germany/. Unfortunately, we found no place for the tour in the observatory Cerro Tololo. The two tours were fully booked due to the Whitsun holidays!

Speaking of dry air: That makes you thirsty! Let’s have a pisco sour! Salud!

Would like to see more? Have a look at our Clips. Pisco Mistral and Fiesta Chilena

21. Mai 2018

Von Pisco und Observatorien

May 19th 2018: Pisco Festival in Pisco Elqui, Chile

Nachdem wir einige der namhaften Weingüter in Zentralchile besucht hatten, machten wir einen Abstecher ins Valle Casablanca. Wir umfuhren Santiago in einem grossen Bogen – die Stadt haben wir vor 18 Jahren besucht und schöner ist sie in der Zwischenzeit auch nicht geworden. Die Weingüter im Valle Casablanca, gefielen uns nicht besonders – sie waren gigantisch gross und lagen zum grössten Teil entlang der Autobahn. Kurz vor Valparaiso bogen wir in Richtung Norden ab.

Durchs Hinterland, via das wunderschöne Valle Hurtado und über den Paso Tres Cruzes erreichten wir das Valle Elqui. In diesem Tal werden vor allem Moscato- und Pedro Jimenez-Trauben angepflanzt, aus denen Pisco produziert wird. Pisco ist das Nationalgetränk der Chilenen aber auch der Peruaner. Beide Länder nehmen für sich in Anspruch das Getränk «erfunden» zu haben. Der Streit führte dazu, dass ein früherer chilenischer Staatspräsident einen Ort im Valle Elqui, der früher La Union hiess, in Pisco Elqui umtaufte. Doch auch das half nichts, denn gemäss Quellen wurde der Pisco im Jahre 1613 zum ersten Mal in einem Dokument in Peru erwähnt! Bruderstreit hin oder her! Am besten schmeckt uns der Pisco als Pisco sour. Die Ingredienzien sind: Pisco (40%), Eis, Zucker und frischer Zitronensaft. Das Wichtigste jedoch sind die süssen Trauben. Und diese wachsen im Valle Elqui, wo wir uns kurz nach der Traubenernte befanden,

Ein weiterer Anziehungspunkt in diesem Teil des Landes sind die Observatorien. Trockene Luft, Höhen von bis zu 5’000 Metern und wenig Lichtverschmutzung schaffen beste Bedingungen um ins Weltall zu schauen. Das erste, das wir besuchten, war das Observatorio Cruz del Sur. Es hat keine wissenschaftliche Funktion und ist auf den Tourismus ausgerichtet. Ein anderes bekanntes Observatorium, das auch wissenschaftlichen Zwecken dient, ist das Observatorio Cerro Tololo. Weiter nördlich stehen die Observatorien Cerro La Silla, Las Campanas und ganz oben im Norden, in der Nähe von Iquique, das Obseravatorio Cerro Paranal, das von der ESO (European Southern Hemsisphere Observatory) betrieben wird: https://www.eso.org/public/germany/. Leider fanden wir keinen Platz für die Führung im Observatorium Cerro Tololo. Die beiden Führungen waren aufgrund der Pfingst-Feiertage ausgebucht!

Apropos trockene Luft: Die macht durstig! Darauf trinken wir einen Pisco sour! Salud!

Lust auf mehr? Schau Dir unsere Videos an. Pisco Mistral und Fiesta Chilena