4. December 2019

PROTECTED BY SAGUAROS

Getting inspired by the Saguaros!

The Indians saw in the Saguaro cactus their deceased relatives who had to be taken care of. However, there was not much missing and the Saguaros, like many other living things, were exterminated by the white man.

Luckily, they created habitats in good time in which the Saguaros can grow undisturbed. Outside Tucson, two national parks were established in 1994 to protect this unique cactus: Saguaro East and Saguaro West. Today it can be said that this is a success story.

Saguaros can live to be 200 years old and up to twelve meters tall. Only at the age of thirty to forty years – when they are about three meters high – they begin to produce the first flowers. And only when the cactus is between sixty and seventy years old, it develops its typical arms, which give it its special appearance.

A Saguaro produces approx. 20 million of seeds in his lifetime, but only one of it grows into a stately Saguaro. Many seeds are eaten by birds, washed away by the rain or dried up. And then there are vandals that do damage to the cactus…

PS. We spent three memorable days in the middle of Saguaros and were protected by them during this time. Thanks a lot!

4. Dezember 2019

VON SAGUAROS BESCHÜTZT

Getting inspired by the Saguaros!

Die Indianer sahen in den Saguaro-Kakteen ihre verstorbenen Verwandten, denen es Sorge zu tragen galt. Es hat jedoch nicht viel gefehlt und die Saguaros wären, wie vieles andere auch, von den Weissen ausgerottet worden.

Zum Glück schuf man noch rechtzeitig Lebensräume, in denen die Saguaros ungestört wachsen können. Ausserhalb von Tucson wurden im Jahre 1994 zwei Nationalpark gegründet, die dem Schutz dieses einmaligen Kaktus galten: Saguaro Ost und Saguaro West. Heute lässt sich sagen, dass das eine Erfolgsgeschichte ist.

Saguaros können 200 Jahre alt und bis zwölf Meter hoch werden. Erst im Alter zwischen dreissig und vierzig Jahren – dann sind sie rund drei Meter hoch – beginnen sie die ersten Blüten zu produzieren. Und erst wenn der Kaktus zwischen sechzig und siebzig Jahre alt ist, entwickelt er seine typischen Arme, die ihm sein spezielles Aussehen geben.

Ein Saguaro produziert in seinem Leben ca. 20 Millionen Samen, doch nur einer davon wächst zu einem stattlichen Saguaro heran. Viele Samen werden von Vögeln gefressen, vom Regen weggewaschen oder vertrocknen. Und dann gibt es auch Vandalen, die dem Kaktus Schaden zufügen…

PS. Wir verbrachten drei unvergesslich schöne Tage inmitten von Saguaros und wurden während dieser Zeit von ihnen behütet. Vielen Dank!