3. May 2018

Of dead and living wood!

Over a hundred years old!

On the way to the coast, we stopped at a COPEC station near Cabrero. Here, as we know from experience, you find not only hot showers and good coffee (no Nescafé!) but also a stable WIFI connection. And we need that in order to update our website.

We could do without the shower, because we had spent the day before in a spa. So we dedicated ourselves to working on our laptops. Times went by very fast and a few hours were gone. We decided to spend the night at the gas station. Something we do only exceptionally, because a quiet good night sleep is normaly out of the question. But ear plugs help a bit to dampen the constant truck.

The next morning, at 8.30 (then it gets light in autumn!)  I went to get two big cups of hot coffee. Then we felt strengthened for the drive to the coast. For hours it went through endless pine forests; Forestry is an important industry in Chile. We crossed dozens of trucks loaded with logs or wood chips. Then again we passed woodworking factories, whose chimneys smoked. And not infrequently we saw the charred remains of forests that have fallen victim to fire – not a pretty sight!

After all the dead wood we felt we need a real forest. We found it in Chanco, a small coastal town. Here, in the Reserva Natural Federico Albert, over hundred years old and therefore huge eucalyptus trees grow into the sky. They have been planted by Federico Albert, a German biologist from Berlin, who emigrated to Chile at the beginning of the 20th century. After spending his first years as the director of a museum in Santiago, he discovered his love for the forest. And he relized how important it is for people to appreciate the value of the forest. (In those days, forests were cut down to create cattle pastures, resulting in soil erosion – some of which Chile is still suffering today!)

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the walks through a fantastic and beautiful forest. We’ve never seen eucalyptus trees drop 75 (!) cm long leaves! And for a long time we have not slept so good as here!

3. Mai 2018

Von totem und lebendem Holz!

Over a hundred years old!

Auf der Fahrt an die Küste, machten wir in der Nähe von Cabrero an einer COPEC-Station Halt. Hier, das wissen wir inzwischen aus Erfahrung, gibt nicht nur heisse Duschen und guten Kaffee (kein Nescafé!) sondern auch eine stabiles WIFI. Und das brauchen wir um unsere Webseite zu aktualisieren.

Auf die Dusche konnten wir verzichten, hatten wir doch den Tag zuvor in einer Therme verbracht. Also widmeten wir uns der Arbeit an unseren Laptops. Im Nu waren ein paar Stunden um; und wir beschlossen, die Nacht an der Tankstelle zu verbringen. Etwas, das wir nur ausnahmsweise machen, weil hier an einen ruhigen Schlaf nicht zu denken ist. Doch Ohropax helfen mit, das ständige LKW-Gebrumm zumindest ein bisschen zu dämpfen.

Am nächsten Morgen, um 8.30 Uhr, – dann wird es hell! – holte ich uns zwei grosse Becher heissen Kaffee. Danach fühlten wir uns gestärkt für die Fahrt an die Küste. Während Stunden ging es durch endlose Föhrenwälder; die Forstwirtschaft ist ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig Chiles. Wir kreuzten Dutzende von LKWs, die mit Holzstämmen oder Holzschnitzeln beladen waren. Dann wieder passierten wir holzverarbeitende Fabriken, deren Schlote rauchten. Und nicht selten sahen wir die verkohlten Überreste von Wäldern, die dem Feuer zum Opfer gefallen sind – kein schöner Anblick!

Nach all dem toten Holz war uns nach Wald zumute. Den fanden wir in Chanco, einem kleinen Küstenort. Hier, im Reserva Natural Federico Albert wachsen über hundertjährige, riesige Eukalyptus- und andere Bäume in den Himmel. Gepflanzt hat sie Federico Albert, ein deutscher Biologe aus Berlin, der anfangs des 20. Jh. nach Chile auswanderte. Nachdem er die ersten Jahre als Leiter eines Museums in Santiago beschäftigt war, entdeckte er seine Liebe zum Wald. Und er entdeckte, wie wichtig es ist, dass die Bevölkerung sich dem Wert des Waldes bewusst wird. (In jener Zeit wurden Wälder abgeholzt, um Viehweiden zu schaffen, was Bodenerosion zur Folge hatte – unter denen leidet Chile zum Teil noch heute!)

Wir blieben zwei Nächte und genossen die Spaziergänge durch einen fantastisch schönen Wald. Noch nie haben wir Eukalyptusbäume gesehen, die 75 (!) cm lange Blätter abwerfen! Und schon lange haben wir nicht mehr so ruhig geschlafen wie hier!