10. December 2018

WHALES!

Humpback Whale in sight

30th November 2018, 50 nautical miles off South Georgia: The Ocean Adventurer plowed through the southern ocean at 15 knots. We left the Falkland Islands three days ago and steamed southeast toward South Georgia. All around us only water. But we were not alone! We were followed by albatrosses that darted over the crests of the waves with lightning speed.

The further south we came, the cooler it became. Between the Falkland Islands and South Georgia, we passed the Convergence Zone. Here, the colder polar layer of water sinks below the warmer of the Atlantic into the depths. The result is extremely nutrient-rich water in which krill and other nutrients  float. Food for seals, fish and whales!

We were about to see a documentary about Shackleton when the expedition leader was heard through the loudspeaker. «Please join me on deck! We are surrounded by wales. Come on, if you want to see this!» In no time we were all on deck. We were surrounded by a group of humpback whales. They seemed to take the meeting as an opportunity to show us what they can do. Everywhere we looked, we saw flukes or whales spilling out of the water. An incredible and unforgettable spectacle even before we reached South Georgia!

10. Dezember 2018

WALE IN SICHT!

Humpback Whale in sight

30.11.2018, 50 Seemeilen vor South Georgia: Die Ocean Adventurer pflügte mit 15 Knoten durch den südlichen Atlantik. Die Falkland-Inseln hatten wir vor drei Tagen verlassen und dampften in südöstlicher Richtung South Georgia entgegen. Rund um uns nur Wasser. Doch alleine waren wir nicht! Uns folgten Albatrosse, die pfeilschnell über die Wellenkämme düsten.

Je weiter südlich wir kamen, desto kühler wurde es. Zwischen den Falkland-Inseln und South Georgia passierten wir die Konvergenz-Zone. Hier sinkt die kältere polare Wasserschicht unter die wärmere des Atlantiks in die Tiefe. Das Resultat ist extrem nährstoffreiches Wasser, in dem Krill und anderes schwimmt. Futter für Robben, für Fische und für Wale!

Wir waren daran eine Dokumentation über Shackleton zu schauen, als der Expeditionsleiter über den Lautsprecher zu hören war. «Please join me on deck! We are surrounded by wales. Come immediately if you want to see this!» Im Nu standen wir alle auf dem Deck. Wir waren in eine grosse Gruppe von Humpback-Walen geraten. Die schienen das Treffen zum Anlass zu nehmen, uns zu zeigen, was sie können. Wohin wir schauten sahen wir Fluken oder Walrücken aus den Fluten ragen. Ein unglaubliches und unvergessliches Schauspiel noch bevor wir South Georgia erreicht hatten!