5. May 2019

A VERY SPECIAL MUSEUM

Land Cruiser Heritage Museum, Salt Lake City, Utah

On May 1st, it was a beautiful spring day, we reached Salt Lake City, the capital of the state of Utah. SLC, as the locals call it, is also the stronghold of the Mormons, an American sect. The city is riddled with Mormons temples and churches.

But these were not the destination we targeted on the day we arrived. Our destination was the Land Cruiser Heritage Museum, of which Brigitta had read in the iOverlander. We missed the museum at the first attempt, because it is hardly marked outside. (We were told later that it want to stay as anonymous as possible, so you are not the victim of burglaries!).

After we asked a passerby for the museum, we also found the entrance. What kind of world opened up to us! We were amazed and astonished! There were ancient, over 60-year-old models that were still used in the Korean War. Some looked at their past; rust had gnawed at the body on some models. And the seats didn’t look new either…

But most models presented themselves in top condition. The Land Cruiser shone like new even though they were over a dozen years old. In the collection only the HZJ 78 model was missing! But that stood outside and waited for us to continue our journey …

Have a look at: Land Cruiser Heritage Museum

5. Mai 2019

EIN MUSEUM DER BESONDEREN ART

Land Cruiser Heritage Museum, Salt Lake City, Utah

Am 1. Mai, es war ein wunderschöner Frühlingstag, erreichten wir Salt Lake City, die Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates Utah. SLC wie die Einheimischen es nennen, ist gleichzeitig auch die Hochburg der Mormonen, einer amerikanischen Sekte. Die Stadt ist gespickt mit Mormonen-Tempeln und -Kirchen.

Doch diese waren nicht das Ziel, das wir am Tag unserer Ankunft anpeilten. Unser Ziel war das Land Cruiser-Heritage-Museum, von dem Brigitta im iOverlander gelesen hatte. Wir verpassten das Museum beim ersten Anlauf, denn es ist aussen kaum gekennzeichnet. (Man sagte uns später, dass man möglichst anonym bleiben will, damit man nicht Opfer von Einbrüchen wird!).

Nachdem wir eine Passantin nach dem Museum fragten, fanden wir auch den Eingang. Was für eine Welt tat sich uns da drinnen auf! Wir staunten und staunten und staunten! Da standen uralte, über 60 Jahre alte Modelle, die noch im Korea-Krieg eingesetzt wurden. Vielen sah man ihre Vergangenheit an; Rost hatte an einigen Modellen an der Karosserie genagt. Und die Sitze sahen auch nicht mehr ganz neu aus…

Doch die meisten Modelle präsentierten sich in einem Top-Zustand. Die Land Cruiser glänzten wie neu, obwohl sie zum Teil über ein Dutzend Jahre alt waren. In der Kollektion fehlte nur ein HZJ 78 Modell! Aber das stand draussen und wartete auf uns für die Weiterreise …

Siehe: Land Cruiser Heritage Museum