17. August 2018

Back to Paraguay

Emergency stock for the trip

On Sunday, 12th August 2018, we drove with almost 90 kilograms of luggage to the airport of Zurich. Why so much luggage will some be asking? Well, that has something to do with the fact that not only traveled 600 g (!) Ragusa, two kilos of Ovomaltine, four kilos of chocolate, three kilos of Valais mountain cheese, three cans of Stalden cream, one big bag of Willisauer-Ringli and nutsticks, one tube Thomy mayo and mustard, 1.5 kilos South Tyrolean ham, 1 kilo Schüttelbrot, one bag of condiments and 1 box of dates from Dubai, one bottle of Säntis Malt Whisky, 1 wooden box Vega Fina cigars with us but also some hardware. For example: 1 Caquelon with 6 forks, 1 Mac Book Pro, 1 solar cell, 1 camping-window including the frame, 1 windowpane, 1 gasket for the windshield. In addition there were a few other useful things like underwear and toothbrush …

We flew with Air Europa and they concede to their passengers on long-haul flights to South America four bags of 23 kilos each. Thanks to Brigitta’s packing skills, we were able to limit our luggage to four packages. With difficulty we stowed everything in the luggage compartment of our small car. The rear springs looked strained! I fervently hoped that we would not break the axle or the spring on our way to the airport!

Three hours before departure we were at the gate. The sympathetic lady at the check-in counter generously overlooked the fact that some of the luggage was over the 23 kilogram limit! I was glad that I – despite personal extra weight of five (!) kilograms compared to the outward journey – got a seat assigned and did not have to travel as «bulky goods»!

With some delay, the plane took off and set course for Madrid, which we reached two hours later. We were hungry, but all restaurants of the airport were already closed. But had we not seen a McDonalds booth? Brigitta organized a hamburger with 6 dl (!) ice-cold Coke for each of us! What a horror after the delicious food and wines we enjoyed at home!

17. August 2018

Zurück nach Paraguay

Emergency stock for the trip

Am Sonntag, 12. August 2018, fuhren wir mit fast 90 Kilogramm Gepäck an den Flughafen von Zürich. Wieso so viel Gepäck werden sich einige zu Recht fragen? Nun, das hat damit zu tun, dass nicht nur 600 g (!) Ragusa, zwei Kilogramm Ovomaltine, vier Kilogramm Schokolade, drei Kilogramm Walliser Bergkäse, drei Büchsen Stalden-Crème, je ein Sack Willisauer-Ringli und Nussstengel, je eine Tube Thomy-Mayonnaise und -Senf, 1.5 kg Südtiroler Schinken, 1 kg Schüttelbrot, ein Beutel Aromat, 1 Schachtel Datteln aus Dubai, eine Flasche Säntis Malt Whisky, 1 Holzkistchen Vega Fina-Zigarren, sondern auch Hardware mit uns reisten. Zum Beispiel: 1 Fondue-Caquelon mit 6 Gabeln, 1 Mac Book Pro, 1 Solarzelle, 1 Campingfenster inkl. Rahmen, 1 Fensterscheibe für die rechte Seitentüre, 1 Dichtung für die Frontscheibe. Dazu kamen noch ein paar andere nützliche Dinge wie Unterwäsche und Zahnbürste…

Wir flogen mit Air Europa und die gestehen ihren Passagieren auf Langstreckenflügen nach Südamerika vier Gepäckstücke à je 23 Kilogramm zu. Nur Brigittas Packkünsten ist es zu verdanken, dass wir das Gepäck auf vier Pakete beschränken konnten. Mit Mühe verstauten wir alles im Gepäckraum unseres Kleinwagens. Die hinteren Federn sahen strapaziert aus! Ich hoffte inbrünstig, dass wir auf der Fahrt zum Flughafen keinen Achs- oder Federbruch haben!

Drei Stunden vor Abflug waren wir am Gate. Die sympathische Dame am Abfertigungsschalter sah grosszügig darüber hinweg, dass die Gepäckstücke zum Teil über der 23 Kilogramm- Grenze lagen! Ich war froh, dass ich – trotz persönlichem Mehrgewicht von fünf (!) Kilogramm gegenüber der Hinreise – einen Sitzplatz zugewiesen bekam und nicht als «Sperrgut» reisen musste!

Mit einiger Verspätung hob das Flugzeug ab und nahm Kurs auf Madrid, das wir zwei Stunden später erreichten. Wir hatten Hunger, doch alle Restaurants des Flughafens waren bereits geschlossen. Doch hatten wir nicht einen McDonalds Stand gesehen? Brigitta organisierte dort für jeden von uns einen Hamburger mit 6 dl (!) eiskaltem Coke! Was für ein Graus nach dem köstlichen Essen und dem Wein, den wir zuhause serviert bekamen!