22. November 2019

A TRIP TO BISBEE

Eye to Eye with a Hawk!

Bisbee, formerly known as the «Queen of Copper Deposits», is praised in our 12-year-old Lonely Planet as charming with its Victorian character. That alone would not have been enough to lure us there. But from the Whitewater Draw Wildlife Area, where we watched cranes for two days, it was only a stone’s throw away. And besides, there should be a Gelateria, which offers excellent ice cream!

On 11/15/2019 we made our way to Bisbee. On the drive we saw a beautiful hawk, who watched us curious from his lookout point on a pole. I stepped hard on the brake pedal, turned 180 ° and drove back. And in fact, the bird was still sitting there. That alone was worth the trip to Bisbee.

Bisbee itself did not invite for much lingering. The town has some beautiful buildings, many bars and galleries. But the surroundings – Bisbee experienced a copper boom at the beginning of the 20th century – looks like the one in all mining towns: huge dumps, lots of rubble and scrap. We had a coffee and then drove back to the cranes. The falcon, however, we didn’t get to see on the way back!

PS. A plaque at the entrance to Bisbee states that this is the most beautiful town in Arizona. Well – tastes are different!

22. November 2019

ABSTECHER NACH BISBEE

Eye to Eye with a Hawk!

Bisbee, früher auch «Königin der Kupfer-Lagerstätten» genannt, wird in unserem 12 Jahre alten Lonely Planet mit seinem viktorianischen Charakter als charming gelobt. Das alleine hätte nicht gereicht, um uns dorthin zu locken. Doch von der Whitewater Draw Wildlife Area aus, wo wir während zwei Tagen Kraniche beobachteten, war es nur ein Katzensprung dorthin. Und zudem soll es in Bisbee auch eine Gelateria geben, die hervorragende Glacé anbietet!

Am 15.11.2019 machten wir uns auf den Weg. Auf der Fahrt trafen wir auf einen wunderschönen Falken, der uns von seinem Aussichtspunkt auf einem Pfahl, neugierig beobachtete. Ich trat hart aufs Bremspedal, wendete um 180° und fuhr zurück. Und tatsächlich sass der Vogel immer noch dort. Das alleine war den Abstecher nach Bisbee wert.

Bisbee selbst lud nicht lange zum Verweilen ein. Das Städtchen hat zwar einige schöne Gebäude, viele Bars und Galerien. Doch die Umgebung – Bisbee erlebte anfangs des 20. Jahrhunderts einen Kupferboom – sieht aus wie die in allen Minenstädten: Riesige Abräumhalden, viel Schutt und Schrott. Wir tranken einen Kaffee und fuhren anschliessend zu den Kranichen zurück. Den Falken allerdings bekamen wir auf der Rückfahrt nicht mehr zu sehen!

PS. Eine Tafel am Ortseingang von Bisbee besagt, dass dies der schönste Ort Arizonas sein soll. Na ja – Geschmäcker sind verschieden!