7. August 2019

MIGHTY ST. LAWRENCE RIVER

What a view!

On 31st July 2019, after travelling for five days and 2’000 kilometers through Labrador and Quebec province, we reached Baie Comeau, a small town on the St. Lawrence River. We had seen a lot of water on this trip, but this river has another dimension. As a European you think of big rivers like the Rhine or the Danube. But those and many others are small if you compare it with the St. Lawrence river.

«Now we have reached the sea again,» I said spontaneously when we saw it. In front of us a huge area of ​​water stretched out. Water as far as the eye could see, nowhere was land to be seen. Only with the binoculars did we discover the outline of the Gaspé Peninsula on the other side. And when night came, the weak lights of the towns could be seen on the other side.

An employee of the Microbrewery in Baie Comeau, whom we visited the next day, answered to our question, whether the St. Lawrence River is not an inlet: «No! It is our river and you will see the difference once you are in Quebec!». And indeed, when we arrived in Quebec a few days later, the broad St. Lawrence River had become an ordinary river. Its mightiness shows this stream only where it forms the St. Lawrence Bay.

PS: The St. Lawrence River drains the Great Lakes to the Atlantic. The name also refers to the 450-miles-long Bay, which opens like a funnel to the Atlantic.
(Source: Wikipedia)

7. August 2019

AM ST. LORENZ STROM

What a view!

Am 31.7.2019, nach fünf Tagen und 2’000 Kilometern, erreichten wir Baie Comeau, eine Kleinstadt am St. Lorenz-Strom. Wir hatten auf dieser Fahrt viel Wasser gesehen, doch dieser Strom hat eine andere Dimension. Hört man das Wort Strom, dann denkt man als Europäer an grosse Flüsse wie den Rhein oder die Donau. Doch die und manch andere stellt der St. Lorenz Strom in den Schatten.

«Jetzt sind wir wieder am Meer angelangt», äusserte ich spontan, als wir ihn erblickten. Vor uns dehnte sich eine riesige Fläche Wasser. Wasser soweit das Auge reichte, nirgends war Land zu erblicken. Erst mit dem Fernglas entdeckten wir auf der anderen Seite die Umrisse der Gaspé-Halbinsel. Und als es Nacht wurde, waren auf der anderen Seite die schwachen Lichter der Städtchen zu sehen.

Eine Angestellte der Micro-Brauerei in Baie Comeau, die wir am nächsten Tag besichtigten, meinte auf unserer Frage, ob der St. Lorenz Strom nicht ein Meeresarm ist: «No! It is our river and I missed it during the time I was in Québec!». Und in der Tat: Als wir ein paar Tage später in Québec eintrafen, war aus dem breiten St. Lorenz-Strom ein gewöhnlicher Fluss geworden. Seine Mächtigkeit zeigt dieser Strom erst dort, wo er die St. Lorenz Bucht bildet und so breit ist, dass man das andere Ufer nicht sieht.

PS: Der St. Lorenz Strom entwässert die Grossen Seen zum Atlantik. Der Name bezieht sich auch auf die 660 Kilometer lange Bucht, die sich trichterförmig zum Atlantik öffnet. (Quelle: Wikipedia)