10. September 2019

TACKLING THE «SOUTH CANOL ROAD»

Just a Dream!

Our clothes smell of smoke and fire. In the past three evenings, we are sitting around the campfire until 10.30 pm in the evening. The day before yesterday it was on the Klondike, yesterday at Great Salmon Lake and today in the forest, on the South Canol Road.

Since we drove the Dempster-Highway, we have found even more enjoyment on dirt roads. So, it was a good thing that South Canol Road, a 230-kilometer connecting road between the Robert Campbell and Alaska Highway, was on our route. We drove this dirt road for the first time in 2008; but during bad weather. But now a few more sunny days were announced. So, what could be more appropriate than to take this road once more under the wheels?

Like many roads in northern Canada, Canol Road was built in 1943 during the Second World War. And also, by the Americans, who built a pipeline to the north to safely fuel the US Army in Alaska. And where a pipeline is being built, there is also a road to follow: CANOL (Canadian Oil).

After the war, the road and pipeline were taken out of service. But then the Canadians discovered the value of this dirt road and after a few repairs put it back into operation. To the delight of us and other tourists who are traveling with off-road vehicles. A 4×4 vehicle is not a prerequisite here. But it is good to know that you can drive this route even in the rain. Luckily since days the sun shines from a deep blue sky. And we drive without 4×4 by a fantastically beautiful autumn landscape (Indian Summer!) Driving is not any better than here and now!

PS. Tomorrow, September 9, 2019, we will reach the Alaska Highway at Johnsons Crossing. Then we decide if we head south to Watson Lake, or north to Whitehorse once again!

(Written on 8.9.2019, at Quiet Lake Camp, on the edge of Canol Road.)

10. September 2019

AUF DER «SOUTH CANOL ROAD»

Just a Dream!

Unsere Kleider riechen nach Rauch und Feuer. Seit drei Abenden schon sitzen wir abends bis um 22 Uhr ums Lagerfeuer. Vorgestern war es am Klondike, gestern am Great Salmon Lake und heute im Wald, auf der South Canol Road.

Seit wir den Dempster-Highway gefahren sind, haben wir noch mehr Gefallen an Naturstrassen gefunden. Da traf es sich daher gut, dass die South Canol Road, eine 230 Kilometer lange Verbindungsstrasse zwischen dem Robert Campbell- und dem Alaska-Highway auf unserer Route lag. Wir hatten diese Naturstrasse 2008 zum ersten Mal gefahren; damals bei schlechtem Wetter. Jetzt aber waren ein paar weitere sonnige Tage angesagt. Was lag also näher als diese Strasse nochmals unter die Räder zu nehmen?

Wie so viele Strassen im Norden Kanadas wurde auch die Canol-Road 1943, während des Zweiten Weltkrieges, gebaut. Und zwar ebenfalls von den Amerikanern, die eine Pipeline in den Norden bauten, um die US Army in Alaska sicher mit Treibstoff zu versorgen. Und wo eine Pipeline gebaut wird, entsteht nolens volens auch eine Strasse: die CANOL (Canadian Oil).

Nach dem Krieg wurden Strasse und Pipeline ausser Betrieb genommen. Doch dann entdeckten die Kanadier den Wert dieser Strasse und nahmen sie nach einigen Ausbesserungsarbeiten wieder in Betrieb. Zur Freude von uns und anderen Touristen, die mit Off-Road-Fahrzeugen unterwegs sind. Ein 4×4 braucht es hier nicht in jedem Fall. Doch es ist gut zu wissen, dass man diese Strecke auch noch bei Regen fahren kann. Den haben wir zum Glück nicht. Seit Tagen scheint die Sonne von einem stahlblauen Himmel. Und wir fahren ohne eingeschalteten 4×4 durch eine fantastisch schöne Herbstlandschaft (Indian Summer!) Schöner als hier und jetzt kann Autofahren nicht mehr sein!

PS: Morgen, am 9. September 2019, werden wir bei Johnsons Crossing wieder auf den Alaska-Highway stossen. Dann entscheiden wir, ob wir nochmals nordwärts nach Whitehorse, oder südwärts, nach Watson Lake fahren.

 (Geschrieben am 8.9.2019, am Quiet Lake Camp, am Rande der Canol Road.)