7. July 2019

ON JOHN CABOT’S TRACKS

Lighthouse at Cape George, Nova Scotia

What a reunion! Rita and Sascha have been on tour for two months now with their Toyota Campervan. The last time we met them in Horgen, on Lake Zurich. On July 2, 2019, we met again. But this time in the Five Islands State Park, on the Bay of Fundy, in Nova Scotia. There was a lot to talk and laugh about! (Sascha, don’t worry, we don’t tell any details here!) The next morning, we said goodbye and went separate paths. Where will we meet next time?

Our destination was Cape Breton Island and the Cabot Trail, which leads around the island. The name was given to this trail by the Italian navigator, Giovanni Caboto. In 1497 he was looking on behalf of England’s king, Henry VII. for a shorter sea route to India. He sailed for the English under the name of John Cabot.

We had already driven this winding route once – in the fog. This time we wanted to drive it in nice weather. We did it until Chéticamp on the west coast. There we drove into a dense fog wall; the view was reduced dramatically. The fog stayed with us until we arrived on the other side, at Pleasant Bay. There we came across an interpretive center on whales. An hour later, we knew a lot more about whales and whaling. And we learned that the Crab Season is starting in this region now! (We will savour one of the delicious Queen Crabs in the coming days!)

Not far from Pleasant Bay, the fog cleared. We found above a steep cliff a place to camp with a spectacular view, this compensated us for the foggy ride. All’s well that ends well!

7. Juli 2019

AUF JOHN CABOTS SPUREN

Lighthouse at Cape George, Nova Scotia

Was für ein Wiedersehen! Rita und Sascha sind seit zwei Monaten mit ihrem Toyota Campervan auf Tour. Das letzte Mal haben wir sie in Horgen, am Zürichsee, getroffen. Am 2. Juli 2019 trafen wir sie im State Park Five Islands, an der Bay of Fundy, in Nova Scotia. Es gab viel zu erzählen und zu lachen! (Sascha, keine Angst, wir erzählen hier keine Details!) Am nächsten Morgen verabschiedeten wir uns und schlugen getrennte Wege ein. Wo werden wir uns wohl das nächste Mal treffen?

Unser Ziel war Cape Breton Island und der Cabot Trail, der um die Insel führt. Der Name erhielt dieser Trail vom italienischen Seefahrer, Giovanni Caboto, der 1497 im Auftrag von Englands König, Heinrich VII, nach einem kürzeren Seeweg nach Indien suchte. Er segelte für die Engländer unter dem Namen John Cabot.

Wir hatten diese kurvenreiche Strecke bereits einmal gefahren – im Nebel. Dieses Mal wollten wir sie bei schönem Wetter fahren. Das hatten wir bis Chéticamp an der Westküste. Dort fuhren wir in eine dichte Nebelwand; die Sicht reduzierte sich dramatisch. Der Nebel blieb uns treu bis wir auf der anderen Seite, in Pleasant Bay, ankamen. Dort stiessen wir auf ein Interpretive Center zum Thema Wale. Eine Stunde später wussten wir einiges mehr über Wale und den Walfang. Und wir erfuhren, dass in dieser Region jetzt die Crab Season beginnt! (Eine der köstlichen Queen Crabs werden wir in den kommenden Tagen mit Bestimmtheit verspeisen!)

Nicht weit von Pleasant Bay entfernt lichtete sich der Nebel. Wir fanden oberhalb der steilen Küste einen Übernachtungsplatz mit einer spektakulären Aussicht, der uns für die neblige Fahrt entschädigte. Ende gut, alles gut!