29. July 2019

GOODBYE NEWFOUNDLAND

Beautiful Newfoundland

The weather alone could not have been the reason that we toured this island for almost a month. But it was better than we expected. Six days without rain is the exception here. And we had that on the way to St. Barbe, where on July 26th, 2019 we take the ferry to Blanc Sablon, which lies on Labrador.

The trip from the Bonavista Peninsula up here spoiled us once more with beautiful landscapes. Or with lovely fishing villages like Trinity. There were also some museums that interested us. One about Geology in St. John’s, one about boatbuilding in Winterton, another one about seal hunting in Elliston.

Now that we know more about the seal hunting and the sealers, the meaning about them has changed for the better. Seal hunting was an extremely dangerous job and one that allowed fishermen to earn an income if they could not live off fishing. Once again it became clear that it is always good to know both sides of the coin. Since seal hunting is banned, they become a big problem. In these waters soon 10 million seals are said to be around. And they eat fish …

PS: For a few days I am doing more sports again and am a member of the Canadian Club! (A good Canadian whiskey!)

29. Juli 2019

AUF WIEDERSEHEN NEUFUNDLAND

Beautiful Newfoundland

Am Wetter alleine kann es nicht gelegen haben, dass wir diese Insel für fast einen Monat bereisten. Aber es war schlussendlich besser, als wir erwartet hatten. Sechs Tage ohne Regen ist hier die Ausnahme. Und den hatten wir auf der Fahrt nach St. Barbe, wo wir am 26. Juli 2019 die Fähre nach Blanc Sablon bestiegen.

Die Reise von der Bonavista-Peninsula hierher verwöhnte uns einmal mehr mit schönen Landschaften. Oder mit lieblichen Fischerdörfern wie Trinity. Zudem gab es auch einiges Museen, die uns interessierten. Eines zum Thema Geologie in St. John’s, eines über Bootsbau in Winterton und ein anderes zum Thema Robbenfang in Elliston.

Seit wir mehr über den Robbenfang und die Robbenfänger wissen, hat sich das Bild, das wir uns von ihnen gemacht haben, zum Besseren gewendet. Robbenjagd war ein extrem gefährlicher Job und einer, der den Fischern erlaubte ein Einkommen zu verdienen, wenn sie nicht vom Fischfang leben konnten. Einmal mehr zeigte sich, dass es immer gut ist, beide Seiten der Medaille zu kennen. Seit der Robbenfang verboten ist und es an Fressfeinden fehlt, vermehren sich die Robben in hoher Kadenz. In diesen Gewässern sollen sich bereits an die 10 Mio. Robben tummeln. Und die fressen Fisch…

PS. Seit ein paar Tagen treibe ich wieder mehr Sport und bin Mitglied des Canadian Club! (Ein guter kanadischer Whisky!)