13. July 2019

PUFFINS IN ABUNDANCE

Every Puffin Pair has its Burrow!

After almost a week in Newfoundland we have already seen a lot. What was missing was a visit to the Puffins; the small sea birds with their colorful beak.

On July 11, 2019, at 11 o’clock, we were in Bulls Harbor. From there, the boats of the company O’Briens set sail. The trip lasts two hours and costs CAD 60.–. For that a meeting with Humpback whales and 500’000 (!) Puffins is guaranteed. Dividing the amount you pay with the number of animals you see it’s an excellent deal!

Too bad the sky was gray. But at least it did not rain. We were dressed warm, because we had been told the day before that it will be fresh on the sea. (For Newfoundlanders it’s not cold – it’s summer here!) With a dozen Canadian tourists we chugged out to the sea, sonicated by Irish folk music. We had more pleasure in the explanations of the biologist who was on board.

After fifteen minutes we saw the first blow and shortly thereafter the first Humpback whale appeared. He made a turn and then disappeared in the depths. But not before he showed us his powerful fluke. After that, more whales appeared – it seemed they have been waiting for us.

But we also wanted to see Puffins! These birds only come to breed on land. The rest of the time they spend on the sea. Puffins are monogamous and live up to twenty years. They build their nest, to which they return each year, with their beak into the ground so that they are safe from enemies (eagles and seagulls) while breeding. Puffins are excellent swimmers and dive up to three hundred feet deep. These cute birds look funny with their beak, which is only colored during the breeding season. And currently half a million puffins are breeding on the island, which we headed to next. What a sight!

13. Juli 2019

BEI DEN PAPAGEIENTAUCHERN

Every Puffin Pair has its Burrow!

Nach bald einer Woche in Neufundland haben wir bereits einiges zu sehen bekommen. Was noch fehlte, war ein Besuch bei den Puffins; oder bei den Papageientauchern wie wir sie nennen.

Am 11.7.2019, um 11 Uhr, waren wir im Bulls Harbor. Von dort stechen die Boote von O’Briens in See. Der Ausflug dauert zwei Stunden, kostet CAD 60.–. Dafür ist ein Treffen mit Humpback-Walen und 500’000 (!) Papageientauchern garantiert. Teilt man den zu bezahlenden Betrag mit der Anzahl Tiere, die man zu sehen bekommt, dann ist das ein ausgezeichneter Deal!

Schade, dass der Himmel grau war. Doch zumindest regnete es nicht. Wir waren warm eingepackt, denn man hatte uns am Vortag gesagt, dass es frisch sein wird. (Für die Neufundländer ist es nicht kalt – es ist ja Sommer hier!) Mit einem Dutzend kanadischer Touristen tuckerten wir aufs Meer hinaus, beschallt von irischer Volksmusik. Mehr Gefallen fanden wir an den Erklärungen des Biologen, der mit an Bord war.

Nach fünfzehn Minuten sahen wir die ersten Fontänen und kurz danach den ersten Wal auftauchen. Er drehte eine Runde und verschwand dann in der Tiefe. Aber nicht bevor er uns seine mächtige Fluke gezeigt hatte. Danach tauchten weitere Wale auf – es schien als ob sie auf uns gewartet hätten.

Doch wir wollten ja auch Papageientaucher sehen! Diese Vögel kommen nur zum Brüten an Land. Die restliche Zeit verbringen sie auf dem Meer. Papageien-taucher sind monogam und werden bis zu zwanzig Jahren alt. Ihr Nest, zu dem sie jedes Jahr zurückkehren, graben sie mit ihrem Schnabel in den Boden, damit sie beim Brüten sicher vor Feinden (Adler und Möwen) sind. Papageientaucher sind ausgezeichnete Schwimmer und tauchen bis zu hundert Meter tief. Lustig sehen diese possierlichen Vögel mit ihrem Schnabel aus, der nur während der Brutzeit farbig ist. Und zurzeit brüten eine halbe Million Papageientaucher auf der Insel, die wir als nächstes ansteuerten. Was für ein Anblick!