USA – Southwest

Texas is the federal state, which has the second largest area and the most counties in the United States. It is bordered to the south by Mexico. Texas can be divided into three different climate zones: a zone determined by dry continental climate in the west, a subtropical zone in the south and a maritime to moderately subtropical zone in the east

New Mexico is a state in the southwestern United States. It is characterized by its location on a plateau. From the east the terrain rises flat from the prairies of the High Plains. The southwest of the state is part of the Chihuahua Desert. From the northwest, the Colorado Plateau towers over to New Mexico, and to the north, the southernmost parts of the Rocky Mountains reach to Santa Fe. The drought characterizes the landscape in the plain as in the mountains.

Colorado is located in the western to central parts of the US, is criss-crossed by the Rocky Mountains and with a mean height of 2073 meters, the highest state of the United States. Its name comes from the Colorado River, which is so called because of the reddish (Spanish: colorado) mud it carries with it.

Utah The capital is Salt Lake City and the Salt-Lake-Temple is the center of the “Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints” commonly called “Mormons”. In Utah there is an extreme steppe climate, there are relatively hot summers and cold, snowy winters. The region around SLC (1350 m) is a popular winter sports area; In 2002, the Winter Olympics were held here.
(Source: Wikipedia)

USA – Südwesten

Texas ist der Bundestaat, welcher die zweitgrößte Fläche sowie die meisten Countys in den Vereinigten Staaten aufweist. Texas lässt sich in drei verschiedene Klimazonen unterteilen: Eine von trockenem Kontinentalklima bestimmte Zone im Westen, eine subtropische Zone im Süden und eine maritime bis gemäßigt subtropische Zone im Osten.

New Mexico ist geprägt durch die Lage auf einer Hochebene. Von Osten steigt das Gelände aus den Prärien der High Plains flach an. Der Südwesten des Staates ist Teil der Chihuahua-Wüste. Von Nordwesten ragt das Colorado-Plateau bis nach New Mexico und im Norden reichen die südlichsten Teile der Rocky Mountains bis Santa Fe. Die Trockenheit prägt die Landschaft in der Ebene wie im Gebirge.

Colorado liegt im westlichen bis zentralen Teil der USA, ist von der Gebirgskette der Rocky Mountains durchzogen und mit einer mittleren Höhe von 2073 Metern der höchstgelegene Bundesstaat der USA. Seinen Namen erhielt der Staat vom Colorado River, der wegen des rötlichen (spanisch: colorado) Schlamms, den er mit sich führt, so genannt wird.

Utah Die Hauptstadt ist Salt Lake City und der Salt-Lake-Tempel das Zentrum der „Tempel der Kirche Jesu Christi der Heiligen der Letzten Tage“ landläufig „Mormonen“ genannt. In Utah herrscht extremes Steppenklima, es gibt verhältnismäßig heiße Sommer und kalte, schneereiche Winter. Die Region um SLC (1350 m) ist ein beliebtes Wintersportgebiet; 2002 wurden hier die Olympischen Winterspiele ausgetragen.
(Quelle: Wikipedia)