16. March 2020

«CUCINA ITALIANA» IN GUADALAJARA

A Dream of a Dessert!

«Now he’s in Guadalajara and writes about Italian cuisine, one or the other will probably think!». Not without reason, because Guadalajara, like all Mexican cities, has a beautiful Centro historico. The Spanish influence is not only visible in the language but also in the architecture. In every city there is the Plaza de Armas and around it churches and museums. But we have seen enough of that at the moment. Churches are always full of people here; and crowds of people should be avoided at the time of the Corona virus …

There are many restaurants very close to our Airbnb, which we booked for three nights. Also, Taquerias, where burritos, tamales, and quesadillas are offered. But that’s not our thing, since most of it floats in the oil and is therefore greasy.

We were therefore happy when we came across the Ristorante Dolci di Guidi. (Only recently opened and therefore there is no Website!) On the first evening we ordered Carpaccio di Tonno and then a Pizza Quattro Stagioni from the wood oven. A Torre di Fierenze for dessert. On the second evening a Carpaccio di Manzo, followed by Ravioli con Nocci e Gorgonzola. We waived dessert for weight reasons! Viva Italia!

PS: Salvatore, the Chef from Florence, was so enthusiastic about his city and its food that we will first travel to Florence once we are back in Europe!

16. März 2020

«CUCINA ITALIANA» IN GUADALAJARA

A Dream of a Dessert!

«Jetzt ist der in Guadalajara und schreibt über die italienische Küche wird sich wohl der oder die eine oder andere denken!». Nicht zu Unrecht, denn Guadalajara hat wie alle mexikanischen Städte ein schönes Centro historico. Der spanische Einfluss ist nicht nur in der Sprache hör-, sondern auch in der Architektur sichtbar. In jeder Stadt gibt es die Plaza de Armas und darum herum Kirchen und Museen. Doch davon haben wir zurzeit genug gesehen. Kirchen sind zudem hier immer voller Menschen; und Menschenansammlungen soll man ja in Zeiten des Corona-Virus‘ meiden…

Ganz in der Nähe unseres Airbnb, das wir für drei Nächte gebucht haben, gibt es viele Restaurants. Auch Taquerias, wo Burritos, Tamales und Quesadillas angeboten werden. Doch das ist nicht so unser Ding, da das meiste im Öl schwimmt und entsprechend fettig ist.

Wir waren deshalb froh, als wir auf das Ristorante Dolci di Guidi stiessen. (Erst kürzlich eröffnet und deshalb gibt es auch noch keine Webseite!) Am ersten Abend bestellten wir Carpaccio di Tonno und danach eine Pizza Quattro Stagioni vom Holzofen. Zum Dessert ein Torre di Firenze. Am zweiten Abend ein Carpaccio di Manzo, danach Ravioli con Nocci e Gorgonzola. Aufs Dessert verzichteten wir aus Gewichtsgründen! Viva Italia!

PS: Salvatore, der Chef aus Florenz, schwärmte so von seiner Stadt und deren Essen, dass wir wohl als Erstes nach Florenz reisen werden, wenn wir erst einmal zurück in Europa sind!