17. October 2019

AN EVENING WITH VERDI

La Traviata in full Swing!

We were looking forward to Salt Lake City. We had fond memories of this city and Kathy was waiting for us. She lives in a beautiful house where there is room for us. Even for a whole week, she told us. Once again enjoy the sedentary life. In the morning a hot shower and a warm home! And in the evening a Jack Daniel’s No. 7 at the bonfire in the garden! How nice is that!

In Salt Lake City, SLC for the locals, we also had the Webasto heating repaired. We’re heading south now, but by the time we get to Arizona, where the Snowbirds are currently pulling, we’ll be traveling through cold weather areas. And we had enough of the cold!

We visited the Mormon temples in May; so, these were no longer a target. But the newly renovated opera was one. Kathy got us tickets – as she did the first time. This time for Verdi’s LA TRAVIATA. We still didn’t have an opera outfit. But since last time as we saw visitors in jeans and white sneakers coming to the opera, we do not feel underdressed!

PS. The opera evening will remain as memorable as the first one. And: I belonged to the better dressed half of the audience!

(Written in Salt Lake City, Utah)

17. Oktober 2019

EIN ABEND MIT VERDI

La Traviata in full Swing!

Wir freuten uns auf Salt Lake City, hatten wir doch gute Erinnerungen an diese Stadt. Zudem wartete Kathy auf uns. Sie wohnt in einem schönen Haus, in dem es auch für uns Platz hat. Sogar für eine ganze Woche, wie sie uns sagte. Wieder einmal das sesshafte Leben geniessen. Am Morgen eine heisse Dusche und ein warmes Zuhause! Und abends ein Jack Daniel’s Nr 7 an der Feuerstelle im Garten! Wie schön ist das!

In Salt Lake City, SLC für die Einheimischen, haben wir auch die Webasto-Standheizung reparieren lassen. Wir fahren zwar jetzt in den Süden, doch bis wir in Arizona ankommen, wo es die Snowbirds zurzeit hinzieht, werden wir noch durch kühlere Gegenden reisen. Und gefroren haben wir genug!

Die Mormonen-Tempel haben wir im Mai besucht; diese waren also kein Ziel mehr. Doch dafür die neu renovierte Oper. Kathy hat uns – wie bereits beim ersten Besuch – Tickets beschafft. Dieses Mal für Verdi’s LA TRAVIATA. Ein Opern-Outfit hatten wir zwar immer noch keines. Doch seit wir letztes Mal sahen, dass Besucher in Jeans und weissen (!) Turnschuhen in die Oper kommen, fühlen wir uns nicht underdressed!

PS: Der Opernabend mit Verdi wird uns unvergesslich bleiben. Und: ich gehörte zur besser gekleideten Hälfte des Publikums!

(Geschrieben in Salt Lake City, Utah)