24. June 2019

A MORGAN ON FOUR LEGS

Home of America's first horse breed: the Morgan!

Aficionados of English cars – there are still supposed to be some – know that there are exquisite brand sports cars, called Morgan. A company that was founded 1905 by HFS Morgan and that surprisingly still exists. But these automobiles are not the ones to talk about in this post.

We are talking about the horses that are also called Morgan. In 1791, said Justin Morgan in Massachusetts received a two-year-old horse as a payment of a debt. He made his way to Vermont where he came from. Soon, Justin realized that his horse, he called it Figure, surpassed all others when it came to hard work but also to trotting or racing. Figure also turned out to be a very good stallion. One who founded a new breed, Morgan, that is not only known and loved in the US today.

Since 1870 these noble horses have been bred at the Morgan Horse Farm, in Vermont. It is since 1951 owned by the University of Vermont. Here, prospective veterinarians complete part of their studies and learn everything there is to learn about horses.

On June 20, 2019, we were in Weybridge. It was a gray, rainy and cool morning and even the horses on the pasture didn’t seem to enjoy the weather. We had a student who told us the story of this breed and then we examined the Morgans in their boxes. UVT Benevolent, a two-year-old foal with his mother in the pasture, we liked best.

At the end of this year it will be on a meadow in Switzerland! Why? Because we participated in a raffle, whose first prize is this horse. The winners will be notified by phone in the fall of this year. Why shouldn’t that be us? We will be in Canada at this time – not too far away to pick up Benevolent and ride him home!

24. Juni 2019

EIN MORGAN AUF VIER BEINEN

Home of America's first horse breed: the Morgan!

Aficionados von englischen Autos – die soll es immer noch geben –, wissen, dass es exquisite Sportwagen der Marke Morgan gibt. Eine Firma, die 1905 von HFS Morgan gegründet wurde und die erstaunlicherweise immer noch existiert. Doch von diesen Automobilen soll in diesem Post nicht die Rede sein.

Die Rede ist von den Pferden, die ebenfalls Morgan heissen. 1791 erhielt ein besagter Justin Morgan in Massachusetts ein zwei Jahre altes Pferd als Zahlung einer Schuld. Justin machte sich damit auf den Weg nach Vermont wo er herkam. Rasch einmal realisierte er, dass sein Pferd, er nannte es Figure, alle andern übertraf, wenn es um harte Arbeit aber auch ums Traben oder Rennen ging. Figure entpuppte sich auch als ein sehr guter Zuchthengst. Einer, der eine neue Rasse, Morgan, begründete, die heute nicht nur in den USA bekannt und beliebt ist.

Seit 1870 werden diese edlen Pferde auf der Morgan Horse Farm, in Weybridge, Vermont, gezüchtet. Diese ist seit 1951 im Besitz der Universität von Vermont. Hier absolvieren angehende Tierärzte einen Teil ihres Studiums und lernen alles, was es über Pferde zu lernen gibt.

Am 20. Juni 2019 waren wir in Weybridge. Es war ein grauer, regnerischer und kühler Morgen. Selbst die Pferde auf der Weide schienen keine Freude an diesem Wetter zu haben. Wir liessen uns von einer Studentin die Geschichte dieser Rasse erzählen und begutachteten anschliessend die Morgans in ihren Boxen. Am besten gefallen hat uns UVT Benevolent, ein zwei Jahre altes Fohlen, das mit seiner Mutter auf der Weide stand.

Ende dieses Jahres wird es auf einer Wiese in der Schweiz stehen! Weshalb? Weil wir an einer Tombola teilgenommen haben, deren erster Preis dieses Pferd ist. Die Gewinner werden im Herbst dieses Jahres telefonisch benachrichtigt. Weshalb sollen das nicht wir sein? Wir werden dann in Kanada sein – nicht allzu weit weg von Vermont. Dort holen wir Benevolent ab und reiten mit ihm nach Hause…