27. October 2019

A PARK LIKE A FILM

Kodachrome: A fitting Name!

In 1948, National Geographic magazine organized an expedition to southern Utah. At that time, it was still a little-known area and the organizers hoped for some spectacular stories and pictures about their journey into the unknown. Guides were hired who knew the area.

The expedition was equipped with Dodge vehicles, partly built from wood, and one of the first Toyota models. (I think I know which model made less problems!) Part of the expedition were photographers and filmmakers. And a film known for its color fidelity of a company that no longer exists today in this form! The company was called Kodak; the film Kodachrome!

What the expedition brought back as material was incredibly beautiful Kodachrome impressions! The multi-page report in the National Geographic made the landscapes in southern Utah known worldwide. After consultation with Kodak, the park was renamed. Today it’s officially called Kodachrome Basin State Park. It is located just a few miles southeast of the well-known (and overflowed) Bryce Canyon NP.

If there were still the Kodachrome film, then Brigitta would have needed it to capture the spectacle of colors. But I think that she succeeded as well! (Unlike many «photographers», she knows where the delete button is!)

PS. Sometimes I wish the time back when there was no smartphone or digital photography. There were 36 shots per film and quality went before quantity!

(Written at Starbucks Café in Cedar City, Utah)

27. Oktober 2019

EIN PARK WIE EIN FILM

Kodachrome: A fitting Name!

Im Jahre 1948 organisierte der Verlag der Zeitschrift National Geographic eine Expedition in den Süden Utahs. Das war damals noch eine kaum erkundete Gegend und die Organisatoren versprachen sich einiges von dieser Reise ins Unbekannte. Führer wurden angeheuert, die die Umgebung kannten.

Die Expedition war mit Dodge-Fahrzeugen, zum Teil noch aus Holz gebaut, und einem der ersten Toyota-Modelle unterwegs. (Ich glaube zu wissen, welches Modell weniger Probleme machte!) Mit dabei waren auch Fotografen und Filmer. Und ein damals für seine Farbtreue bekannter Film einer Firma, die es heute in dieser Form nicht mehr gibt! Die Firma hiess Kodak; der Film Kodachrome!

Was die Expedition zurückbrachte, waren unglaublich schöne Kodachrome-Impressionen aus dieser Gegend. Die mehrseitige Reportage im National Geographic machte die Landschaften im Süden Utahs weltweit bekannt. Nach Rücksprache mit Kodak wurde der Park umgetauft. Heute heisst er offiziell Kodachrome Basin State Park. Er befindet sich nur wenige Kilometer südöstlich des bekannteren und (überlaufenen) Bryce Canyon NPs.

Gäbe es den Kodachrome-Film noch, dann hätte Brigitta sicher den gebraucht, um das Farbenspektakel einzufangen. Doch ich denke, dass ihr das auch so ganz gut gelungen ist! (Im Gegensatz zu vielen «Fotografen» weiss sie, wo die Delete-Taste ist!)

PS. Manchmal wünsche ich mir die Zeit zurück, als es weder Smartphone noch digitale Fotografie gab. Pro Film gab es 36 Aufnahmen und Qualität ging vor Quantität!

 (Geschrieben im Starbucks Café in Cedar City, Utah)