22. October 2019

IMPRESSIVE: CAPITOL REEF NP

Pretty tight: Capitol Gorge!

On October 19th, after a leisurely drive under a blue sky, we reached the Capitol Reef National Park. It is described in the Lonely Planet; 2008 edition as follows: Less visited than the other NP in Utah. But the guide is twelve years old, and we were curious to see what has changed in this regard.

We reached Fruita, where the headquarter of this National Park is located, late afternoon and decided to postpone the visit to the following day. Just outside Fruita we found a spot on the Fremont River, where we spent a quiet night. The following morning, we went back to Fruita. A fitting name, because here the Mormons planted the first apple, grapefruit and pear trees on their trek 140 years ago. The plantations are now fenced. (In the old days you could pick the fruits from the tree, today it’s over – too many visitors!)

We followed the Scenic Way, which leads through the park. Gigantic this landscape. We also wanted to experience this on foot. So, we parked Mahangu and made our way to the Grand Wash Trail. It led us into the canyon, framed on both sides by a hundred-meter-high cliff that shone in all shades of red. It was pleasantly cool. Woe to who is out here without water in the summer. Just like we did. But we walked in autumn!

You should not overdo it and so we turned around after two and a half kilometers. We had seen the most beautiful part. And in the parking lot Mahangu waited impatiently for the onward journey.

(Written outside of Boulder, on Highway 12, Utah)

22. Oktober 2019

EINDRÜCKLICH: CAPITOL REEF NP

Pretty tight: Capitol Gorge!

Am 19.10., nach einer gemütlichen Fahrt unter blauem Himmel, erreichten wir nach gut dreihundert Kilometern den Capitol Reef Nationalpark. Er wird im Lonely Planet, Ausgabe 2008 wie folgt beschrieben: Less visited and as beautiful as the other NPs in Utah. Doch der Reiseführer ist zwölf Jahre alt, und wir waren gespannt, was sich in dieser Beziehung verändert hat.

Wir erreichten Fruita, wo sich das Headquarter dieses Nationalparks befindet, am späten Nachmittag und beschlossen, den Besuch auf den folgenden Tag zu verschieben. Kurz ausserhalb von Fruita fanden wir einen Platz am Fremont-Fluss, wo wir eine ruhige Nacht verbrachten. Am folgenden Morgen ging’s nach Fruita zurück. Ein passender Name, denn hier haben die Mormonen auf ihrem Treck vor 140 Jahren, die ersten Apfel-, Grapefruit- und Birnbäume gesetzt. Die Plantagen sind heute umfriedet. (Früher durfte man die Früchte noch vom Baum pflücken; heute ist das vorbei – zu viele Besucher!)

Wir folgten dem Scenic Way, der durch den Park führt. Gigantisch diese Landschaft. Die wollten wir auch zu Fuss erleben. So parkierten wir Mahangu und machten uns zu Fuss auf den Grand Wash Trail. Der führte uns in den Canyon, der von beiden Seiten von hundert Meter hohen Felsen eingerahmt ist, die in allen Rottönen strahlten. Es war angenehm kühl. Doch wehe, wer hier im Sommer und ohne Wasser unterwegs ist. So wie wir an diesem Tag!

Man soll es nicht übertreiben und so kehrten wir nach zweieinhalb Kilometern um. Den schönsten Teil hatten wir gesehen. Und auf dem Parkplatz wartete Mahangu ungeduldig auf die Weiterreise.

(Geschrieben ausserhalb von Boulder, Utah)