29. May 2019

GRACELAND: ELVIS LIVES!

Elvis lives on and on and on...

On May 28th, we arrived in the capital of Rock’n Roll: Memphis! Memphis was also the seat of the Sun studio, where Elvis Presley made his first sound recordings at the age 21. One of them, in 1954, was Blue Moon of Kentucky. In 1957, at the age of 22, Elvis bought a house in Memphis on a 500-acre farm: Graceland. And Elvis, who died at the age of 42, is also buried there. But not his music!

I’ve never been on a pilgrimage in my life! And I do not know how it looks in Lourdes. But since yesterday, when we were in Graceland, I can imagine that! Unbelievable how many people of all ages are still attracted by this charismatic singer. It’s been 42 years since he died. But his music lives on as if he too were alive!

On the huge parking lot, we also saw a lot of Harley Davidson and their drivers. They had  the same age as I, but looked twice as old with their huge, white beards! Out of dozens of RVs climbed parents and their kids at hand. Most, however, came with their cars full of teenagers and young adults. Everyone wanted to see where Elvis lived with his parents, wife and daughter. We too!

After paying US$ 120.- for both of us, we were taken by bus to the house. It was smaller than we thought. A room, called Jungle Room, was some of the weirdest we’ve ever seen. Incredible the kitsch and the many utensils from the 70s. The tour ended at the grave of Elvis and some of his family members. (There was a lot of mourning and it felt as Elvis died just yesterday!)

The next few hours we marveled at the cars and motorcycles that belonged to Elvis: Rolls Royce, Ferrari, Mercedes 600, Cadillacs, etc. His plane and that of Priscilla, his wife, can be visited too. And wherever you were you were soaked with his music! Brigitta said to a black employee, «You sure do not hear Elvis music anymore.» To which he replied: «Yes Mam, I do! And I still like it!»

Elvis lives! At least in Graceland!

PS. I remembered my father (born 1905), who said at the time: «This Elvis Presley is doing “Negro Music”!»

29. Mai 2019

GRACELAND: ELVIS LEBT!

Elvis lives on and on and on...

Am 28. Mai kamen wir in der Hauptstadt des Rock’n Roll an: Memphis! Diese Stadt war auch der Sitz des Sun-Studios, in dem Elvis Presley 1954, mit 21 Jahren, seine erste Aufnahme Blue Moon of Kentucky machte. Mit 22 Jahren kaufte er in Memphis ein Haus auf einem zwei Quadratkiometer grossen Gelände: Graceland. Dort ist Elvis, der mit 42 Jahren starb, auch begraben. Aber nicht seine Musik!

Ich war noch nie in meinem Leben auf einer Wallfahrt! Und ich weiss nicht, wie es zum Beispiel in Lourdes zu- und hergeht? Aber seit gestern, als wir in Graceland waren, kann ich mir das vorstellen! Unglaublich, wie viele Menschen allen Alters dieser charismatische Sänger immer noch anzieht. Es ist jetzt 42 Jahre her, seit er starb. Doch seine Musik lebt so, als ob auch er noch leben würde!

Auf dem riesigen Parkplatz standen viele Harley Davidson. Ihre Fahrer, wohl nur knapp jünger als ich, sahen mit ihren weissen Rauschebärten jedoch doppelt so alt aus! Aus Dutzenden von Wohnmobilen stiegen Väter und Mütter mit ihren Kindern an der Hand. Die meisten jedoch kamen mit ihren PWs. In ihnen sassen mehrheitlich Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene. Sie alle wollten sehen, wo Elvis mit seinen Eltern, seiner Frau und seiner Tochter lebte. Sie alle wollten seine Musik hören. Auch wir!

Nachdem wir den Eintritt von US$ 120.- bezahlt hatten, wurden wir mit einem Bus zum Haus gefahren. Es war kleiner als wir gedacht hatten. Ein Raum, Dschungelraum genannt, war etwas vom Verrücktesten, das wir je gesehen haben. Unglaublich der Kitsch und die Utensilien aus den 70er Jahren. Die Führung endete im Garten, am Grab von Elvis und einigen seiner Familienmitglieder. (Die Stimmung am Grab war so, als ob Elvis erst gestern gestorben ist!)

Zurück am Ausgangspunkt der Führung bestaunten wir die vielen Autos und Motorräder, die Elvis gehörten: Rolls Royce, Ferrari, Mercedes 600, Cadillacs usw. Sein Flugzeug und das von Priscilla, seiner Frau, können ebenfalls besichtigt werden. Wo immer wir auch waren, wurden wir mit seinen Hits berieselt! Brigitta meinte zu einem schwarzen Angestellten: «Sie hören sicher keine Elvis-Musik mehr». Worauf er antwortete: «Yes Mam, I do! And I still like it!»

Elvis lebt! Zumindest in Graceland!

PS. Ich erinnerte mich an meinen Vater (Jahrgang 1905), der damals sagte: «Dieser Elvis Presley macht doch «Negermusik»!