2. June 2019

HONKY TONK IN NASHVILLE!

At the heart beat of Country Music!

On May 31st, we arrived in Nashville, Tennessee. The city calls itself Country Music Capital of the World. If you drive with open windows down the Broadway, then you can hear music from all the bars on both sides. Mostly Bluegrass, Country and Blues. Even from the buses, which make city tours, country music resounds.

First we went to the Country Music Hall of Fame, where we paid tribute to the past and present greats of Country Music. Finally, we admired the gilded Cadillac of Elvis, with a Wurlitzer installed. With the sounds of «Love me tender, Love me please» in our ears, we set off to the famous Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge.

Tootsie’s is an institution in Nashville. In this little bar many later famous country musicians played before they were «discovered». We were here for the first time eleven years ago and wondered if this bar has changed! No, it hasn’t as we already noticed at the entrance. From within, country music, laughter, and hoots came. We found a spot at the very end, ordered a Jack Daniel’s Nr. 7 and listened to song after song for the next two hours.

In the evening a visit to the Grand Ole Opry was on the program. The concerts transmitted from here have cult status:  www.opry.com. Now our hunger for country music was satisfied! We were hungry! And here we have satisfied that: www.bierhausnashville.com.

PS. Honky Tonk, is a kind of pub, which is widespread in the south and southwestern of the United States. The term dates back to the late 19th century. Its exact origin is unknown. (Source: Wikipedia)

2. Juni 2019

HONKY TONK IN NASHVILLE!

At the heart beat of Country Music!

Am 31. Mai kamen wir in Nashville, Tennessee, an. Die Stadt bezeichnet sich selbst als Country Music Capital of the World. Fährt man mit offenen Fenstern über den Broadway, dann ist auf beiden Seiten und aus allen Bars Musik zu hören. Meistens Bluegrass, Country und Blues. Selbst aus den Bussen, die Stadtrundfahrten machen, schallt Countrymusik.

Unser erster Gang führte uns in die Country Music Hall of Fame, wo wir den vergangenen und jetzigen Grössen der Country Music Respekt zollten. Zum Abschluss bewunderten wir den vergoldeten Cadillac von Elvis, mit eingebautem Wurlitzer. Mit den Klängen von «Love me tender, Love me please» im Ohr, machten uns auf in die berühmte Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge.

Tootsie’s ist eine Institution in Nashville. In dieser kleinen Bar spielten viele später bekannte Country-Musiker bevor sie «entdeckt» wurden. Wir waren vor elf Jahren zum ersten Mal hier und gespannt, ob sich diese Bar verändert hat! Nein, hat sie nicht, wie wir bereits beim Eingang feststellen konnten. Aus dem Innern drang Country Music, Gelächter und Gejohle. Wir fanden ein Plätzchen ganz zuhinterst, bestellten einen Jack Daniel’s Nr. 7 und hörten die nächsten zwei Stunden einen guten Song nach dem andern.

Abends stand ein Besuch in der ausverkauften Grand Ole Opry auf dem Programm. Die von hier aus übertragenen Konzerte haben Kultstatus: Gran Ole Opry . Jetzt war unser Hunger nach Country-Musik gestillt! Wir hatten Hunger! Und den haben wir hier gestillt: Bierhaus Nashville 

PS: Honky Tonk, ist eine Art von Kneipe, die vor allem im Süden und Südwesten der USA weit verbreitet ist. Der Begriff geht auf das späte 19. Jahrhundert zurück. Seine genauere Entstehung ist unbekannt. (Quelle: Wikipedia)