25. June 2019

ICE CREAM, YOU SCREAM: BEN & JERRY

Only the best is good enough!

Once upon a time … This is how fairy tales begin. And what happened in Burlington in 1978 is like a fairy tale. Two students, Ben Cohen & Jerry Greenfield, screwed up their exam at the University of Vermont and wondered how to escape from this situation. At first, they thought about producing Donuts. But the investment for the basic equipment costed too much. So, they attended a course for five dollars, where they learned how to make Ice Cream.

They sold it with an old VW Bus in Burlington and surroundings. The Ice Cream that bears their name was born. And it still exist today. However, the two-man company has become one with several thousand employees and  belongs now to the Unilever Group. Ben & Jerry ice cream with names like Half baked, Jerry Garcia or Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz (my favorite flavor!) is sold around the world. The secret of success is simple: best quality of ingredients and a distinctive appearance.

We planned our tour of Vermont so that we pass at Ben & Jerry. On June 21, 2019  we arrived in Burlington. We booked a guided tour that costs US $ 4.- per person. The tour is in groups of max. 40 people and takes place every ten (!) minutes. The tour of the production ended with a tasting of the variety Fudge with Salted Caramel Swirl. It tasted delicious. Finally, we bought a pint that costed just under six dollars. Do you eat that, you don’t need dinner anymore!

More information: www.benjerry.com

25. Juni 2019

ICE CREAM, YOU SCREAM: BEN & JERRY

Only the best is good enough!

Es war einmal… So beginnen Märchen. Und das, was in Burlington im Jahre 1978 geschah, kommt einem Märchen gleich. Zwei Studenten, Ben Cohen & Jerry Greenfield, vermasselten ihre Prüfung an der Uni von Vermont und überlegten, wie sie sich aus dieser Situation retten. Zuerst versuchten sie sich als Hersteller von Donuts. Doch die Investition für die Grundausrüstung kostete zu viel. Also belegten sie für fünf Dollar einen Kurs, in welchem sie lernten, wie man Ice Cream herstellt.

Die verkauften sie aus einem VW-Bus in Burlington und Umgebung. Die Ice Cream, die ihren Namen trägt, war geboren. Und es gibt sie heute noch. Allerdings ist aus der Zwei-Mann-Firma ein Unternehmen mit mehreren Tausend Angestellten geworden, das inzwischen zum Unilever-Konzern gehört. Ben & Jerry verkauft seine Ice Cream mit Namen wie Half baked, Jerry Garcia oder Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz (mein Liebling!) rund um die Welt. Das Geheimnis des Erfolgs ist einfach: Beste Qualität der Zutaten und ein eigenständiger, unverwechselbarer Auftritt.

Wir planten unsere Tour durch Vermont so, dass wir bei Ben & Jerry vorbei-kommen. Am 21. Juni 2019 war es soweit; wir trafen in Burlington ein. Dort buchten wir eine Tour, die pro Person US$ 4.- kostet. Die Führungen, in Gruppen von max. 40 Personen, finden alle zehn (!) Minuten statt. Der Rundgang durch die Produktion endete mit einer Verkostung der Sorte Fudge with Salted Caramel Swirl. Sie schmeckte lecker. Zum Schluss kauften wir ein Pint, das knapp sechs Dollar kostet. Hat man das gegessen, braucht man kein Abendessen mehr!

Mehr Infos zum Thema: www.benjerry.com