10. September 2019

INDIAN SUMMER

Just beautiful!

Traveling through northern Canada in the fall has several advantages. For the mosquitoes it is too cool to go after the few tourists who travel these high latitudes at this time of the year. And the blackflies are already in hibernation, so that you can stay outside without bug shirt and store the bug spray away.

However, Canada is not only famous for the mosquito plague but also for the Indian Summer. And we are currently experiencing it from its most beautiful side. Already as we drove northward, the woods colored in all fall colors. But now, since we head south, the immense forests have definitely changed to the colorful autumn dress.

Over the past few days, on the Dempster Highway, we’ve seen fantastic scenery: Crystal-clear rivers and streams, high and rugged mountains, deep blue lakes, dark red taiga and berry-bushed tundra. But what we see and experience now beats everything we’ve seen so far. I simply miss the words to describe the color spectacle. A photograph by Brigitta gives the readers of this post an idea how it currently looks like in northern Canada, in the Yukon. Wonderful! Magical! Fantastic!

PS: Leaving the Yukon is difficult for us. Again, and again we stay one more day and camp at a beautiful spot close to a lake or a river. The weather is just too nice to just drive …

 (Posted on 6.9.2019, on Lake Lenora, Yukon)

10. September 2019

INDIAN SUMMER

Just beautiful!

Im Herbst durch den Norden Kanadas zu reisen, hat mehrere Vorteile. Den Moskitos ist es zu kühl, um sich auf die wenigen Touristen zu stürzen, die sich um diese Jahreszeit in diese hohen Breitengrade begeben. Und auch die Blackflies sind bereits im Winterschlaf, so dass man sich draussen ohne Bug Shirt aufhalten und den Insektenspray auf die Seite legen kann.

Kanada ist jedoch nicht nur für die Mückenplage, sondern auch für den Indian Summer berühmt. Und den erleben wir zurzeit von seiner schönsten Seite. Bereits als wir nordwärts fuhren, färbten sich die Wälder in allen Herbstfarben. Doch jetzt, seit wir Richtung Süden fahren, haben sich die immensen Wälder definitiv das farbige Herbstkleid übergezogen.

Wir haben in den letzten Tagen, auf dem Dempster-Highway, fantastische Landschaften erlebt: kristallklare Flüsse und Bäche, hohe und schroffe Berge, tiefblaue Seen, dunkelrote Taiga und die mit Beerensträuchern bestandene Tundra. Aber was wir jetzt sehen und erleben, schlägt alles, was wir bisher zu sehen bekommen haben. Mir fehlen schlicht die Worte, um das Farbenspektakel zu beschreiben. Eine Aufnahme von Brigitta gibt den Lesern dieser Rubrik eine Ahnung, wie es zurzeit im Norden Kanadas, im Yukon, aussieht. Wunderbar! Märchenhaft! Fantastisch!

PS: Der Abschied vom Yukon fällt uns schwer. Immer wieder schalten wir eine Übernachtung ein. Das Wetter ist einfach zu schön, um nur zu fahren…

 (Geschrieben am 6.9.2019, am Lake Lenora, Yukon)