31. May 2019

JACK DANIEL’S: AN AMERICAN ICON

Visit at the Distillery

On May 30, 2019, we reached Lynchburg, a small village with 500 inhabitants in Tennessee. But as small as the village is, so big is what is produced here: Jack Daniel’s No. 7. A whiskey, knighted by Frank Sinatra with the words: «The nectar of the gods and the best booze in the world».

Eleven years have passed since our first visit. A long time, in which a lot happened in the little Lynchburg! The parking lot is around three times as big as before. From there you can take a bus to the Welcome Center. There you will be greeted – as before – by a JD employee, who could have appeared from a JD display. (He gladly accepted our request to take a picture with him when we showed him the photo Brigitta made with his colleague eleven years ago.)

We bought the tickets for a 1 1/2-hour tour. It was more than worth the money (US $ 40.-). In the meantime, at the end of the tour, you can taste five different JD products. Lynchburg is a dry county – a community in which no alcohol be served! But for JD, the main employer far and wide, they made an exception. Since a few years, visitors can taste and buy the product that is made here!

The only reason I didn’t buy a bottle of Jack Daniel’s No.7 was because we still have a bottle of Wyoming Whiskey on board. More info about one of the best Bourbon whiskey in the world: www.jackdaniels.com

31. Mai 2019

JACK DANIEL’S – EINE AMERIKANISCHE IKONE

Visit at the Distillery

Am 30. Mai 2019 erreichten wir Lynchburg, ein kleines Dörfchen mit 500 Einwohnern in Tennessee. Doch so klein das Dorf auch ist, so gross ist das, was hier produziert wird: Jack Daniel’s Nr. 7. Ein Whiskey, der von Frank Sinatra mit den Worten: «The nectar of the gods and the best booze in the world» ins Rampenlicht der Welt gerückt wurde.

Seit unserem ersten Besuch sind elf Jahre vergangen. Eine lange Zeit, in der auch im kleinen Lynchburg viel passierte! Der Parkplatz ist rund drei Mal so gross wie früher. Von dort wird man mit einem Bus zum Welcome-Center gefahren. Dort wird man – wie früher – von einem JD-Mitarbeiter begrüsst, der einer JD-Anzeige entsprungen sein könnte. (Unserer Bitte, eine Aufnahme mit ihm zu machen, kam er gerne nach, als wir ihm die Aufnahme zeigten, die Brigitta vor elf Jahren mit seinem Kollegen gemacht hatte.)

Wir kauften die Tickets für eine Führung von 1 1/2 Stunden. Sie war das Geld (US$ 40.-) mehr als wert. Inzwischen ist es nämlich so, dass man zum Schluss der Führung fünf verschiedene JD-Produkte degustieren kann. Und das obwohl Lynchburg ein Dry county ist – eine Gemeinde, in der kein Alkohol ausgeschenkt werden darf! Aber für JD, der wichtigste Arbeitgeber weit und breit, machte man eine Ausnahme. Seit ein paar Jahren können die Besucher das Produkt, das hier hergestellt wird, degustieren und kaufen!

Der einzige Grund, der mich vor einem Kauf einer Flasche Jack Daniel’s Nr 7 abhielt, war, dass wir noch eine Flasche Wyoming Whiskey an Bord haben. Mehr Infos über einen der besten Bourbon-Whiskeys: www.jackdaniels.com