7. June 2019

KENTUCKY: BOURBON AND THOROUGHBREDS

I'm a Kentucky Derby Champion!

On June 3, 2019, we reached Bardstone in Kentucky, also called Bluegrass State. Where did the name come from? In the spring, there grows a grass in Kentucky with a bluish tinge. (Bluegrass is also called a style of country music.)

Kentucky and especially the Bardstone region are known for two things. There is the Bourbon Whiskey, which has its home here. It was distilled for the first time in 1789 in the adjacent Bourbon County, which bears the name of the French noble family. Since that time, this drink, which contains at least 51% corn in addition to rye and barley, is called Bourbon whiskey. Unlike Jack Daniels, which is produced in Tennessee, the Bourbon whiskey in Kentucky is not filtered through charcoal. Of the many distilleries (including Jim Beam, Wild Turkey, Four Roses, and Woodford), we’ve visited the scenic location of Maker’s Mark. Here, the bottleneck is finally dipped in sealing wax, which gives the product a special appearance.

Even more than Bourbon, the Thoroughbreds were of interest for us. The most famous horse breeders worldwide are located in this region. This is also where the most famous horse race in the world takes place: the Kentucky Derby. We missed that by a few weeks. But there are also plenty of other things to see. For example the Kentucky Horse Park. There it is all about the horse. We met the former champions who won the Kentucky Derby and other important races (and millions of prizes). We saw how horses are lovingly washed with shampoo and by hand. Here you want to be a horse …

More about horses: www.kyhorsepark.com

7. Juni 2019

KENTUCKY: BOURBON UND VOLLBLÜTER

I'm a Kentucky Derby Champion!

Am 3. Juni 2019 erreichten wird Bardstone in Kentucky, das auch Bluegrass Staat genannt wird. Woher der Name? Im Frühling wächst in Kentucky ein Gras mit bläulichem Schimmer. (Bluegrass wird auch eine Stilrichtung der Country Musik genannt.)

Kentucky und vor allem die Region um Bardstone, sind für zwei Dinge bekannt. Da ist der Bourbon Whiskey, der hier seine Heimat hat. 1789 zum ersten Mal gebrannt wurde er im angrenzenden Bourbon County, das den Namen der französischen Adelsfamilie trägt. Seit dieser Zeit wird dieses Getränk, das neben Rogge und Gerste mindestens 51 % Mais enthält, Bourbon Whiskey genannt. Im Gegensatz zu Jack Daniels, der in Tennessee produziert wird, wird der Bourbon Whiskey in Kentucky nicht durch Holzkohle filtriert. Von den vielen Brennereien (u.a. Jim Beam, Wild Turkey, Four Roses und Woodford) haben wir die malerisch gelegene von Maker’s Mark besichtigt. Hier wird der Flaschenhals zum Schluss in Siegelwachs getaucht, was dem Produkt eine besondere Anmutung gibt.

Noch mehr als Bourbon interessierten uns die Vollblüter oder Thoroughbred, wie sie hier genannt werden. Die bekanntesten Pferdezuchten weltweit befinden sich in dieser Region. Hier findet auch das berühmteste Pferderennen der Welt statt: das Kentucky-Derby. Das verpassten wir um ein paar Wochen. Doch es gibt auch sonst noch genug zu sehen. Zum Beispiel den Kentucky Horse Park. Hier steht das Pferd im Mittelpunkt. Wir konnten die früheren Champions bestaunen, die das Kentucky Derby und andere wichtige Rennen (und Millionen von Preisgeldern) gewannen. Hier sahen wir, wie Pferde liebevoll mit Shampoo und von Hand gewaschen werden. Hier möchte man ein Pferd sein…

Mehr zum Thema Pferd: www.kyhorsepark.com